World Nutella Day

HAPPY WORLD NUTELLA DAY!

Bloggers Ms. Adventures in Italy and Bleeding Espresso designated February 5, 2011 as the fifth annual World Nutella Day in order to celebrate this yummy chocolate hazelnut spread!

In honor of this delicious ingredient, bloggers from all over are posting recipes that use Nutella. As for my contribution, I’ve chosen Giada De Laurentiis’ White Chocolate Mousse & Nutella Tartlets!

In the interest of full disclosure, I wasn’t excited about making the phyllo cups. This is because phyllo dough and I had a rocky first experience. Last week, I had to buy a package of phyllo dough for Dorie Greenspan’s Chicken B’stilla. Having only used eight sheets of phyllo, I had several leftover in the package and have been wondering what to do with them. Then, I remembered these tartlets that Giada made on her show, “Everyday Italian”. It seemed perfect because it incorporates white chocolate mousse together with my new found fondness of Nutella! I thought that Nutella would be the perfect reason to give phyllo dough another chance. It worked! These phyllo cups were easy to make, probably because I knew the star of this recipe is Nutella and not the phyllo. And because you’ll be filling the cups with Nutella and white chocolate mousse, any imperfections in the cups would be hidden! Yum!

I alternated the order in which I spooned in the fillings. One had the Nutella in the cup first with the white chocolate mousse on top (as per the original recipe.)

However, since this dessert is honoring Nutella, I thought it more appropriate to have the Nutella nestled on top of the mousse!If you happen to have an aversion against phyllo dough, feel free to make this dessert with the fillings only served in ramekins! If you place the white chocolate mousse on top, then the Nutella will be a very nice surprise for the lucky person eating it!

Make sure to head over to the World Nutella Day blog for this year’s round-up of Nutella recipes and for Nutella recipes from past years! Above all, grab some Nutella and enjoy!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 09:08:18

    These really look wonderful and they actually aren’t all that hard to do🙂. That makes me happy. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. Ker-Yng
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 09:09:59

    I’ve never heard of World Nutella Day till now. What a great idea, I love Nutella too! Your tartlets look awesome, first a bite of crunchy pastry and then chocolatey goodness!

  3. Ronda
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 09:56:35

    How did I miss that Nutella Day was coming?! I am going to have to put this on my Google Calendar so that it reminds me. Those tarts look great!

  4. Jessica
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 10:53:41

    I don’t think I’ve ever had nutella…but I’ll go get some today and share it in honor of World Nutella Day! I would leave the phyllo dough out and just snack on the mousse/nutella combo.

  5. evilcakelady
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 14:02:38

    I just found out about World Nutella Day maybe 20 minutes ago and as a rabid fan of Nutella, I am trying to work something in! These sound delicious, but then again anything with Nutella sounds delicious🙂

  6. Domestic Goddess Wannabe
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 16:30:31

    Aw, if only I’d known I would have made some Nutella pancakes! Your tarts look great.

  7. Patti
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 19:43:38

    Even after two slices of birthday cake today I took one look at your tartlets and wanted one. I’ll have to give these a try sometime and remember world nutella day for next year.

  8. Elaine
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 20:37:17

    I think you are mastering phyllo! Great job. Happy World Nutella Day!

  9. Comfy Cook
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 01:47:44

    One look and I am yearning to have one. You did a great job with these.

  10. Cakelaw
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 03:00:25

    Phwoar – this sounds like a delightful dessert!

  11. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 03:19:49

    Oh dear , these are sooo cute …didn i guess right that day?
    When i said 5th i knew:-) and was looking forward to see what u come up with.
    I still have some more Filo and must do this🙂
    I wanted to do a round up of all the Nutella stuff i made the last few posts , coz of nutella day , but didn end up doing that😦
    So send them each separately🙂
    Have a wonderfull day babe , with love!
    Mia.

  12. TheSceneFromMe
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:27:16

    White Chocolate and Nutella? Now that sounds like heaven in my mouth!

  13. cca
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:36:07

    Happy Nutella Day!

  14. Andrew
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:27:24

    Yay Nutella! Jessica and I tried it the other day also, it was very good.

