Weekend Food: Broken Brick Jello

I first saw this recipe from Mary at The Food Librarian. She made so many different versions that I had to try one! I went the easy route and made the broken glass version with sugar-free strawberry Jello. I had intended to make the layered version, but I like the set it and forget it method. I was so excited about seeing how the pieces looked that I woke up with a smile on my face after letting the pan set overnight. I will admit that I didn’t let the condensed milk mixture cool long enough before I poured it on the broken red pieces, so a little melting did occur. But, the swirled pink effect actually looked okay on the surface.

As much as I love Jello, I couldn’t leave the whole pan in my house. Luckily, I was able to go straight to the office this morning to bring in the leftovers. I even got to use the cute Bento lunchbox that my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) bought me last weekend at a fun Japanese outlet store in Chicago called Kawaii!

The Jello was a hit at the office. One of my co-workers (Codename: Tasha) said, “It’s good, but I can’t taste the rum.” Silly, Tasha. Trying to get me to bring the equivalent of Jello shots to the office! Even my boss who normally only eats chocolate ate three pieces and was amazed that the red bricks were sugar-free! As a proven crowd-pleaser, I’m tempted to make this again for the office. Maybe the coffee version as an afternoon pick-me-up…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronda
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 12:02:53

    I might have to make this! I think the DH would really like it.

  2. Miss Anthropist
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:28:24

    LOVE this! It looks so delicious!

  3. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 15:52:44

    what a pretty dessert… i have to make some now..i know my family would love this! thanks for sharing this.

  4. Cakelaw
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 17:49:43

    An interesting idea – I like the fact that it resembles glass. Very pretty.

  5. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:53:03

    So pretty! This would have put a smile on my face as well. 🙂

  6. Jessica
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:02:59

    The jello looks festive for the upcoming Valentines Day! Was the sugar-free jello tasty? I usually don’t trust sugar-free things…

  7. Elaine
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:37:45

    That would put a smile on my face. It looks like Summer!

    I wanted to let you know that I awarded you a “Stylish Blogger Award’ via my blog. 🙂 Have a great Wednesday!

  8. Ker-Yng
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 23:14:42

    Sugar-free Jello but plenty of sugar in the condensed milk! 😉 They do look pretty though and I love the Bento boxes!!

  9. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:03:31

    These are soo cute , no wonder they were a hit!
    I am loving ur bento, i must say!
    The more i hear about Chunklets mom , the more i like her:-)

