ffwD: Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake

I really enjoyed this week’s recipe! Though, I have to admit I hit a couple of bumps along the way. First, I got ahead of myself in reading the directions and whisked in the seven tablespoons of butter into the chocolate-y mix before I had poured in the strong, hot coffee. I thought that the hot coffee would completely melt the softened butter. But, when I looked at the mix, it didn’t seem like anything was wrong, and I figured if it affected the cake, I’d find out in the baking process. (By the way, I used 1/4 pound of Ghirardelli’s bittersweet chocolate chips and instant coffee to reduce the prep time.)

Second, I need to give you a little background on my history with springform pans. I never owned a springform pan until I joined this cooking group and had to make Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake in an 8-inch springform pan. After looking in two different bakeware stores, I couldn’t find an 8-inch pan. Instead, I found a set of 3, each measuring 8.5/9/9.5 inches. I settled for this option and gave the 9.5 pan to Chunklet’s mom. Using the 8.5-inch pan, my apple cake ended up being a little flatter than the cookbook photo. This also occurred when I made Julia Child’s Reine de Saba cake. Experience told me that my double chocolate mousse cake would probably be on the flat side as well. Though, if you look closely, you can see a bit of a slope from the edge of the cake to the center.

On top of the springform ring being slightly larger than the recipe called for, all of my baking pans were slightly dented or uneven. I had a sinking feeling that my batter would leek out from underneath the springform ring during baking. In fact, this did occur. But, it only happened a little and the batter that oozed out baked quickly. Thus, my resulting cake base was even flatter, but the bits that oozed out actually tasted okay. I crumbled up those bits and sprinkled them on the serving dish.

My final issue with the springform ring was that for some reason, I hadn’t closed the ring! This made the cake even flatter and near impossible to unmold. After running a knife around the edges several times and trying to shake the cake free, I finally had to flip the cake over, which did unmold it, but part of the cake came apart! This is why you’re only seeing a slice in the photos!

I opted for serving the cake warm because my sister wanted to try a piece soon after it came out of the oven. I made some whipped cream with vanilla bean paste to serve alongside. However, I forgot that I had given my co-worker (Codename: Tasha) my leftover cocoa powder so she could make a chocolate cake for Thanksgiving. Instead, I dusted powdered sugar on top of each slice. I think next time I make this, I’ll make sure to have some fresh red berries and sprigs of mint to help with the plating.

Despite my mishaps, this cake was very chocolate-y and velvety, which I thoroughly enjoyed! I’ll definitely be making this again. It was also extremely rich, so I could only eat one piece this time around, and I needed milk to help with the task! But, really, is eating a piece of chocolate cake a task? Hardly…

You can see the slope, vanilla bean specks, and the richness of the cake a little better in this photo

Make sure to check out other bloggers’ thoughts on this dish at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:29:44

    It looks just perfect!!! Velvety is the perfect description!

  2. Cher
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:32:10

    Nice plate! This was a good cake, I thought. I am not sure how to prevent the seepage, but if I make this again, I might try putting the bottom in the pan and lining it with parchment to see if that helps.

    Good luck closing out the trial!

  3. gaaarp
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 21:11:12

    This was really good, wasn’t it? I had all kinds of problems with mine, too. My springform is 9 inches and I had a lot of leakage. The next time I make it, I’ll use the bottom of the pan and double the recipe.

  4. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 21:52:53

    This looks so wonderfully chocolate! I haven’t made mine yet, but I plan to do it after work tomorrow. 🙂

  5. stephirey
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 23:21:15

    Darn springforms…I had a 9″, so I added 25% to the recipe…still flat…but oh so tasty! I love the powdered sugar on your cake. Good luck with the trial.

  6. Anne-Marie
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 05:53:36

    Thanks for sharing your ups and downs. It looks highly edible despite the mishaps.

  7. Cakelaw
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 06:15:13

    It looks good – you’d never guess that you had any issues. And I agree that berries would be a good pairing with this.

  8. Elaine
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 06:16:09

    It looks great even with all your mishaps! I think thick or thin the espresso chocolate in this recipe tastes so delicious.

  9. jayne
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 07:19:42

    I hit a few bumps in the road making this, too, but despite that, it turned out wonderful. Yours looks very good – and who cares about how it slopes as long as it tastes this good?!

  10. beth@thescreenporch
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:43:36

    I wonder what new pan you will have to buy next… that’s half the fun right?! Your cake looks great. Good luck with the trial. B:)

  11. Trevor Sis Boom
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 09:34:27

    This is nearly the exact recipe my mother uses for a rolled chocolate dessert. So….. its made to be flat. lol. But quite tasty. I invested in an 8″ pan after joining the group ’cause so many recipes are calling for it.

  12. Flourchild
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 09:35:08

    I had mine warm with ice cream too! This was not a fav. of mine but Im glad I made it!!
    Oh ..you mentioned the butter crisco on my blog…funny cus I use it all the time when baking cookies!!!

  13. Ronda
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 09:51:27

    I, too, only could find a 9″ pan. I think it worked out great though.

  14. Jessica
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 11:01:42

    Even though the cake was flat, this looks yummy! I like how you used the leaked parts as a garnish on the dish, but the dollop of cream should have been bigger! I will have to try this recipe even though I too have troubles with springform pans.

  15. Steph@stephsbitebybite
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 11:40:57

    I had a few issues too, but this cake seems to be almost fool proof 🙂 Yours looks so chocolatey and FLUFFY! Yum 🙂

  16. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 12:18:52

    Looks sinful! Love the plate, too! 🙂

  17. betsy
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 12:30:16

    Looks delicious despite a few hiccups along the way. I prefer the way yours looks with the powdered sugar to the way mine looked with cocoa powder. The contrast is much prettier.

  18. Candy
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 13:18:52

    Lovely plate! I meant to dust mine with confectioner’s sugar but forget. Great job!

  19. sara
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 13:46:59

    Mmmmm, this cake looks fantastic…gorgeous! 🙂

  20. Radiodiva
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 15:26:01

    Yeah, well…any leftover broken pieces will go yummy with the Bears game this weekend! I don’t know about you, but I too agree with the rest of the panel…that cake looks beautiful to me…you know what they say: 1 man’s trash is another man’s tresaure…HAND OVER THE CHOCOLATE BOOTY =)

  21. steph (whisk/spoon)
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 16:30:37

    super-chocolatey and good! one of the best i’ve made.

  22. Ker-Yng
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 23:50:14

    I enjoyed this cake too, one of those kind that tastes good even though it wasn’t 100% successful. 🙂

  23. Christina
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 23:55:55

    The whipped cream looks heavenly. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more with a little of that on the plate!

  24. Jackie (Phamfatale.com)
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 03:50:20

    It looks so moist and delicious. Perfect way to end a meal 🙂

  25. Terra
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 12:22:09

    This looks beautiful!!! I can’t wait to make it again, I know where I had issues, but wow what a delicious cake:) Take care!

  26. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 12:44:31

    I had a few bumps too , but they were created coz of my experiments:-)

    I think i saw the set of 3 on Amazon too , but i pick minis coz they are perfect to make minis when we have guests + i eat less and i like cute!

    My rose high and really high and i thought id have a nice slope , but my minis did sink but the slopes were a little different!

    Can i tell u how muc i loveeeee that plate u have , can i ask u again whats the brand of the plate , or the name on the reverse so i can look around too:-))))

    And oh yeah loved the textures too and though aint very fond of dark chocolate i quite liked this one:-)

  27. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 12:44:44

    And i have an earnest request to u too:-)

    My blog has been nominated for best if Indian Food blog awards and is the only goans food blog:-))
    there is a poll , right on FB
    http://poll.fm/f/2mwyb

    And u can also vote for me here at my site

    Im 4th from Below or number 14 , Bright Morning Star! —http

  28. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 12:49:02

  29. Kathy
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 14:05:30

    Your cake looks wonderful despite you problems with the spring-form pan! Wish I had made it…will have to give it a try!

  30. Can't Believe We Ate...
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 14:07:18

    What a wonderful post! I’m encouraged! LOL! I just bought smaller springform pans than I had…I have a 14 inch! I’m looking forward to trying this one. Great job!

  31. Comfy Cook
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 18:37:14

    I enjoyed reading your post. It is the bumps on the way that we learn from. I have not made t his yet but I learned a lot from you. Have to read everyone else’s.

    Your cake looks perfect to me.

    Chaya from My Sweet and Savory

  32. Andrew
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 16:57:45

    It sounds like making the cake was an adventure! The end result looks very tasty though.

  33. A Busy Nest
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 22:05:49

    Anything with chocolate AND vanilla beans involved has my attention! Thanks for stopping by A Busy Nest. 🙂
    -Meredith

