Weekend Food

I decided to do a pre-clean out of my refrigerator this weekend. (The real clean out will occur later this week before my sister comes back into town.) My scan of the fridge produced leftover mushrooms, chives, and buttermilk that needed to be used in a jiffy, so my best bet was to head over to Smitten Kitchen and get some recipes!

Enter creamed mushrooms on chive butter toast. This was so delicious, but I skipped the dainty toast points and just cut thick slices of a French baguette to hold the delicious mushroom mixture. I also made the mixture a bit more rustic by doing a rough chop of the mushrooms instead of finely mincing. Regardless, the creaminess of the mushrooms really goes nicely against the chives and toasty bread. It was really filling for a mid-afternoon snack.

As for the buttermilk, I found a recipe for buttermilk chive biscuits! Even better! I absolutely hate it when herbs go bad, so using them in two recipes was good.

See the chives?

The biscuits were really fluffy in texture, but mine were a little flat because I rolled out the dough a little too thinly and used a makeshift biscuit cutter out of a too-wide glass. Oh, well. They tasted great with the sausage patties I cooked up for a quick breakfast on Saturday. Recipes for both dishes can be found here for the creamed mushrooms and here for the chive buttermilk biscuits. Thank you, Smitten Kitchen!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph@stephsbitebybite
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 13:06:11

    Interesting toast topper! I would never have thought to make something like this, but it does sound very good!

  2. Liz
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:12:23

    Oh, I could just eat a bowl of those creamed mushrooms! The chive biscuits look darn good, too~

  3. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 19:01:46

    I have some of those same left-overs in my refrigerator.🙂 Everything looks yummy!

  4. Jessica
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:50:10

    Using a drinking glass to cut out biscuits is a good idea! The biscuits look yummy.

  5. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 09:18:32

    oh yum! those look so lovey..i love the biscuits too… they look so pretty with those specs of chives peaking out.

  6. Trevor Sis Boom
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:31:06

    My favorite cooking challenges are when i do cleanouts. I don’t happen onto many blog worthy dishes but I feel accomplished nonetheless. Great job! These look quite tasty!

  7. Comfy Cook
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 17:05:31

    This is my kind of lunch. I love creamed mushrooms and I like your idea of a chunk of bread and rough chopped mushrooms. The taste really comes out, that way.

  8. vanillastrawberryspringfields
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 10:59:22

    I love SK for recipes too and u have done these biscuits wonderful here!
    Yeah yeah , i see the chives and i loveee to see the chives:-)
    Oh they sound fantastic with sausage patties !
    U have wonderful food here , and i loveee coming here for all the deliciousness and warmth!

