ffwD–Paris Mushroom Soup & “Salad”

So, it’s the first week back with ffwD where everyone makes the same dish each week. I will admit that I like this rotation better because I like comparing notes on what everyone else did with their dishes. I felt somewhat lost when I read posts on dishes I hadn’t made yet.

Anyway, January’s first assignment is Paris Mushroom Soup with a Mushroom “Salad”. I did a couple of things differently with this soup. First, I read on the Q&A portion of the site that someone used Marsala wine instead of dry white wine to flavor the soup. I did this as well, and it gave the soup a nice sweet flavor which I enjoyed! Second, I used a regular blender to blend the soup because I do not own an immersion blender. I couldn’t justify buying one since I don’t usually blend my soups. As such, my resulting soup was slightly chunky. But, I did like the consistency because it tricked my palette into thinking that this was a cream soup when it wasn’t. Finally, I put a dollop of reduced fat sour cream (instead of crème fraiche) directly on the soup instead of on the mushroom “salad”.

I put sour cream on the soup instead of on the salad.

One thing about the mushroom “salad”. My sister and I were a bit confused by it. We weren’t sure whether we actually had to eat it as a side salad. Instead, we just used it as garnish for our soup. It was still pretty tasty! We especially enjoyed the chives!

This is the "salad" of "garnish" for the soup!

Overall, this soup was good, but in the past three weeks, I’ve made two other versions of mushroom soup on separate occasions, so I was a bit overextended on the flavor. I may try this soup again in a couple of months and see if my impression changes. Make sure to check out other bloggers’ thoughts on this dish at French Fridays with Dorie. As usual, the recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cher
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 07:17:40

    I agree! It is nice to be back on track with everyone doing the same recipe. The “salad” threw me for a loop at first too. I just put everything in the bottom of my bowl and spooned the hot soup over it.
    Looks lovely!

  2. steph - stephsbitebybite
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 07:30:02

    I was confused about the salad too, took me a few readover to understand. I love the small changes that you made to this recipe! Here’s to a whole new year of FFwD!

  3. Elaine
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 07:31:43

    I am sure the salad was just as tasty as a garnish for the soup. I like the way you sliced your mushrooms. Great job on the soup!

  4. Liz
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 07:33:07

    I think I liked the “salad” better as a garnish, too. It was amazingly creamy for no cream, wasn’t it?

  5. Candy Girl
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 07:54:08

    Glad you guys enjoyed this one!

  6. Kathy
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:43:55

    Your soup looks fantastic! I think I will try the Marsala next time I make this. It did taste great with the white wine though.

  7. beth@thescreenporch
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:48:48

    Chunklet Hi!! Happy New Year. Soup looks great. I also like this rotation better because we can share ideas and I think it is just easier to visit all the sites. I’m glad you enjoyed I did also. Great for a night when you’ve had a trial! B:)

  8. ComeUndone
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:51:08

    I’ll have to try using marsala wine next time.

  9. Trevor Sis Boom
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 09:20:52

    I was going to write about the confusing writing associated with the ‘salad’ in my typical snarky way but SOME had been admonishing me for that kind of tone lately. lol. As written, the recipe would have had us putting a WHOLE mushroom in each bowl. Check it out. I’m glad we don’t all follow instructions exactly as that would have been weird, right? I love that black square plate! I’m going to have to buy one immediately!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  10. Mia
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 10:18:25

    I love the sweetness u added with the different wine , i would loveee that too!
    I love ur soup was a little chunky , i will be leaving mine a little chunky too🙂
    with my immersion though!
    I am enjoying the same recipe for all this time , coz its fun , yeah i didn post yet , but will sure catch up or do a rewind🙂
    And i loveee the salad as the garnish!
    Here’s wishing u again with lodsa love!
    And hah , had to tell u ,u can send the post on Nigella ,below, to Forever Nigella , will give u the link from the button on my blog :-)if u want to!

  11. Ker-Yng
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 11:33:06

    Hi, your soup looks good too. I don’t like raw mushrooms so I definitely have to put them in the bowl to let the hot soup cook it! By the way, your Chicken Schnitzel below looks so YUMMY!

  12. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 11:37:08

    I agree with you 100% I like it better when we all make the same recipes at the same time. We have so much more in common that way. Your soup looks delish and I enjoyed reading your post.

  13. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 11:54:16

    Looks wonderful! Wish I could eat this every day!🙂

  14. Karen
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 14:46:51

    I almost used sour cream on my soup, and now I wish I had (I didn’t have creme fraiche) – I think would have enhanced the flavor.

  15. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 18:57:15

    Lovely! I can see where you might be tired of mushroom soup after three batches of it though.🙂 I’m wondering how this will freeze. Love your new dish with the mushroom salad in it!

  16. Jessica
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 19:21:47

    That “salad” is strange. You should have just mixed it in with the soup. Mushroom pieces in mushroom soup!

  17. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 19:55:24

    Totally agree about cooking together…so much more fun to compare notes with everyone at the same time. Too funny about the salad!! I used marsala too, since I didn’t want to open a bottle of white for 1/3rd of a cup. Thought it added a great flavor. Soup looks super yummy!

  18. Becky
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 21:52:41

    Great photos! I, too, am glad we’re all cooking together again.

  19. Andrew
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 22:59:55

    Cool, I use mushrooms a lot in my soups, but I’ve never made one that looks quite like that one. It looks very good, it makes me want soup…

  20. Cakelaw
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 23:45:27

    I wish I had remembered a big dollop of sour cream on top – yours looks good.

  21. evilcakelady
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 15:36:11

    i put the salad at the bottom of my bowl and poured the soup over it, although using it as a garnish would be great too. marsala wine is definitely going next the recipe in my book for next time!

  22. betsy
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 16:29:35

    If I make this again, I’ll definitely try your Marsala variation. That would add more depth to the soup, which I found a little bland. I love the salad plate! So elegant! Also, loved your Nigella story in the previous post. I’m going to try the chicken schnitzel. Looks yummy!

  23. chaya
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 11:07:54

    The salad confused me too but I am not a raw mushroom person, usually, so I skipped it.

    I think, what you did, is great. Sour cream on the soup is something, I would like.

