Nigella Lawson is pretty awesome.

Like many of you, my interest in cooking and baking started long before I had a blog. When I moved into my very first apartment, I fell in love with The Food Network. I was excited to try so many recipes, but law school put that desire on hold. As my sister describes it, I ate like a bachelor for three years, with my freezer full of microwaveable dishes and my fridge consisting mainly of snacks and sodas instead of components for dishes.

Fast forward to 2007. My affinity for The Food Network had waned but my interest in cooking didn’t. I received an email that Nigella Lawson would be hosting an afternoon tea and booksigning at the Ritz-Carlton in Chicago. I immediately bought a ticket and found out the tea would feature foods from her cookbook Nigella Express: 130 Recipes for Good Food, Fast. Plus, all the patrons would receive an autographed copy of the book!

The tea service was really delicious, and Nigella even did a roving Q&A session while we were eating. She is such a pleasant person. When you hear her speak, she is full of life and you can hear the passion she has for cooking in her descriptions. Knowing that Nigella would probably hear rather boring and mundane questions like “Where do you buy your sweaters?” and “What is your favorite type of food to make?”, I made sure to do a little research on her beforehand so I could ask a meaningful and thoughtful question. In my research, I discovered that Nigella has faced several tragedies in losing loved ones to cancer. Knowing that I was also bringing an extra copy of her cookbook for my friend, (Codename: Candelabra), who was in the infancy of her surgical oncology residency at the time, I knew I had found my question.

When the microphone came near my section, I asked, “You’ve mentioned that cooking with your family members always induces fond memories of that person. When you lost loved ones around you, how did you start cooking again, knowing that basic necessity would evoke such painful memories?” Nigella smiled, thought for a bit, and said (and I’m paraphrasing here), “I think it goes back to my passion for food and what it can do to help coax you out of whatever troubled state you’re in. I know that when I lost loved ones, the idea behind cooking changed for me. Before it was for enjoyment, but now I had a purpose in finding and preparing foods that were not only healthy for those around me, but nourishing as well. Making dishes that would not only provide nutrients but sustenance for those who are weak. It only made my passion for cooking deeper, and it was that passion and a new outlook on cooking that got me back in the kitchen.” My question was so good that all the ladies at my table of 12 complimented me and said, “Now I don’t want to ask a silly question!”

After the Q&A session, everyone lined up to get their autographed copy of her cookbook and to say hello. I wanted my exchange with her to be meaningful and not fluff, mainly because I was asking her to sign two cookbooks. So, I told her about my friend (Codename: Candelabra), how she was a surgical oncology resident, and how she was missing the tea because of her cancer research. After hearing this, Nigella wrote a special dedication in the extra cookbook I had purchased just for Candelabra. In my cookbook (and in most others), we received a “For (Name Here), Love, Nigella”. Candelabra’s cookbook received a “Am full of admiration for you! Love, Nigella” Isn’t that thoughtful?

Anyway, ever since that experience, I’ve been a huge fan of Nigella Lawson. I’ve made several recipes from her Nigella Express: 130 Recipes for Good Food, Fast. But, one of my favorites is her Chicken Schnitzel with Bacon and White Wine.

Chicken Schnitzel with Bacon and White Wine

This is so easy to make. Just take a teaspoon of garlic-infused oil (I used olive oil), fry up 4 slices of bacon till crispy and then remove to a piece of foil. Using the bacony juice in the pan, cook 4 4-ounce chicken breasts till all the pinkness is gone. Take the chicken out of the pan, crumble the bacon into pan, and add 1/3 cup white wine (I used dry vermouth) till it bubbles. Then, just pour over your chicken. Nourishing and delicious!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 21:47:53

    You are always good at coming up with meaningful questions. I’m glad Nigella gave a meaningful response! Also, Nigella is one of my cat’s middle names. The chicken looks like it would be good with rice.

  2. Andrew
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 22:41:09

    Ooo, that looks really, really good. I’m not sure if I will be allowed to make it, but I will certainly try!

  3. Trevor Sis Boom
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 09:50:01

    I adore her and could listen to her for hours. I love her style and her sense of food lust. She taught me to not worry so much when I am creating in the kitchen. Just do it and enjoy it.

  4. Cher
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 10:51:40

    Great story. If I am lucky enough to get near the TV on a weekend morning, I love watching her show. Her passion for food and her friends really comes through – and is a great reminder to “stop and smell the roses”. (I made her tarragon chicken the same afternoon I saw it on her show and it was to die for.)
    It is refreshing to hear that she has a great “in person” presence is well.

  5. Sarah
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 12:45:50

    I love Nigella. I could listen to her speak forever. I am a big fan of her books, but I’m a bigger fan of her lighting! She always looks amazing! Every time I see her in print or on t.v. I am in awe of how she looks!

  6. Liz
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 14:38:23

    Gosh I can’t believe I don’t own one Nigella cookbook…but I make her chocolate pavlova all.the.time. I must make room on my bookshelf. Lucky you getting to interact with her!!!

    The temps are dropping here in Indy with snow flurries….hope you’re staying warm up in the windy city 🙂

  7. Cakelaw
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 15:20:06

    I am so glad that she is as lovely in person as she seems onTV. I adore Nigella – she is who I want to be when I grow up. This schnitzel looks delightful. I am seeing Nigella in a live show in March – alas, probably from afar.

  8. Trackback: A New Food Challenge! « Yummy Chunklet
  9. Elaine
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:14:02

    Another wonderful story! I love her passion for food and her obvious enjoyment for cooking and baking shows even on television. It must have been fantastic to meet her in person. Your schnitzel looks wonderful!

  10. Trackback: Forever Nigella: Ciao Italia! « Yummy Chunklet
  11. Anita Menon
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 08:45:47

    It was extremely smart to have done some research before going to meet someone who is really intelligent and knows the ways of the world. The question was really meaningful and so was the response. Really impressed, must say.

    I adore Nigella and try and watch all her episodes (even the older ones) on Travel and Living ( don’t get food network here). She comes across being so accessible, humble and yet so graceful.
    Good going there!!!

