Joy of Cooking: Cornstarch Puff Cakes

My sister (Codename: DSN Engineer) gave me Joy of Cooking for Christmas this year! I was eager to try a recipe, but the cookbook is so voluminous that I really didn’t know what to pick first. So, I started simple and chose a dessert of some type.

Then, I read a post by Laws of the Kitchen wherein a muffin recipe was chosen specifically because the ingredients were already on hand. Seeing as this is how I choose many a recipe, I started with that same plan of action. However, I did make one adjustment. I seem to have acquired a rather substantial container of cornstarch, and I don’t remember how I actually came into possession of it. So, I looked up cornstarch, and lo and behold, cornstarch puff cakes!

These muffins came together very easily and were indeed very light and airy, like puffs! They were just sweet enough and can be easily eaten as a snack or as a dessert with some fruit compote or whipped cream. I was thinking about dusting some powdered sugar on top, but they really didn’t need it. I highly recommend these if you have some extra cornstarch you want to use up!

Cornstarch Puff Cakes (from Joy of Cooking)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Have ingredients about 70 degrees. Cream 1/2 c. butter and 1 c. sifted powdered sugar.

Add and beat until light 4 eggs and 1 tsp. vanilla.

Sift before measuring 1 c. cornstarch.

Sift 3 times again, with 2 tsp. double-acting baking powder.

Combine the creamed and the sifted ingredients until blended. Fill muffin tins with greased bottoms half full and bake about 15 minutes.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 23:14:21

    These look like a delicious simple dessert that I’d love to have right now with my hot tea. 🙂 I think it’s a great idea to use what’s on hand, especially if you can come up with yummy things like these!

  2. Me
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 23:27:05

    puff cake cupcake… i want!!!

  3. Cher
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 07:23:23

    That is a really interesting concept. I have never thought of cornstarch as an ingredient beyond a thickening agent. Hmmmm.

  4. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 12:43:59

    i love how catchy it is to say puff cake cupcakes:) thanks for sharing this. have a great day.

  5. Jessica
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 22:51:47

    Ooh! I want you to try one of the icing recipes from that book!

  6. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 01:59:34

    Oh all the wonderful goodies u got for CHirstmas !
    I am sure cornstarch cakes would be wodnerful , after all its CS that gives cake flour the lightness!
    And they look good too!
    I must try this sometimes!
    Mia.

