Tonight’s lazy dinner & tomorrow’s breakfast!

As you can see, I didn’t feel like cooking anything for dinner. But, as simple as mozzarella, tomato, basil, and a drizzle of olive oil on French bread sounds, it was wonderfully filling! My sister and I split the plate, and I wasn’t hungry for anything else! However, I was in the mood to bake! I had planned on baking a cake from The Joy of Cooking, but I’ll hold off on that for tomorrow. Instead, I made these healthy apple oat bran muffins to eat for breakfast during the week! Even though the recipe posted below has the measurements in cups, I used the original recipe’s Metric system amounts on my digital scale! It was so fun! Also, I added the chopped bits of apple, and my batch yielded 16 muffins instead of the original recipe’s 12. Maybe next time I’ll throw in some chopped walnuts as well!Apple Oat Bran Muffins (adapted from Joyofbaking.com)
1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. oat bran
1/3 c. light brown sugar
1&1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/4 c. honey
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 tbsp. canola oil
1&1/4 c. milk
1 small Gala apple, chopped into pieces

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and place rack in the center of the oven. Line a 12 cup muffin pan with paper liners or spray with nonstick vegetable spray.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, oat bran, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and ground cinnamon.

In another bowl, whisk together the lightly beaten egg, honey, vanilla extract, oil, and milk.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir just until moistened. Gently stir in the apple bits.

Pour or ladle the batter to fill the muffin cups, and bake about 16 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted int he center of a muffin comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Me
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 20:59:40

    Yum and yum! I hope you can use my xmas present soon! 🙂

  2. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:18:07

    I think your dinner and breakfast both look delicious- That’s a nice looking tomato for wintertime. I’m having a cup of tea right now, and the muffins are very tempting! 🙂

  3. Cher
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:29:38

    Considering the two slices of toast I squeezed in between work and the girl’s karate lesson, that salad is looking really good right now. Can I eat the screen?

  4. Cakelaw
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 03:33:27

    These sound great! Wish I’d seen them earlier – I just made not so healthy blueberry muffins.

  5. Elaine
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 21:38:47

    Your muffins look perfect! And you can’t go wrong with tomato, basil and mozzarella. Mmmm…

  6. Missy
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 21:55:06

    Everything looks so Yummy! Hmmmm……:-)
    Peace
    Missy
    http://throughanindielens.blogspot.com/

  7. Jessica
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 22:10:06

    The dinner looks good, but I may take the tomato off… I don’t normally eat bran-anything, but Andrew and I may have to try these to supplement our on-again-off-again health kick!

  8. Andrew
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 22:11:47

    Yum! Those look really good! My mom makes apple bran muffins sometimes, they are very tasty.

  9. Trackback: Happy Easter! « Yummy Chunklet
