Leftovers

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

So, 2011’s here, and all I can see right now are leftovers, leftovers, leftovers! One dish I have an abundance of is mashed potatoes. As delicious as these are, I needed a quick way to re-use them before they go bad. Enter: mashed potato cakes.

One of the bloggers I read posted recently about fritters, so I thought that would be an easy way to use up the mashed potatoes. It was so simple! I took 2 cups of leftover mashed potatoes, beat in 1 egg, some leftover pancetta, and a couple sprigs of organic rosemary. With sticky fingers, I formed patties, gave them a good dredging in flour, and fried them in a bit of oil. Make sure to serve with a vegetable so you don’t feel too bad! (I chose peas with onions.)

And, a big thanks goes out to my sister (Codename: Gamer Psychologist) who gave me a spiffy new Samsung TL105 camera for Christmas, which took the photo above! Make sure to double click on the photo for an even clearer picture.

Now, time to re-organize the closets…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 20:15:18

    I love mashed potatoes. I must try fried mashed potatoes!

  2. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 22:37:40

    Yum…I love using leftover potatoes like this. They’re good with some cheese mixed in as well. Love the rosemary! I hope you have a lovely new year!

  3. Cakelaw
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 22:57:53

    Potato cakes are a great use for leftover potato. Very impressed by your new camera photo too.

  4. Trevor Sis Boom
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 00:07:44

    I don’t think I’ve ever had anything bad that was mixed into mashed potatoes and fried! Congrats on the new camera! Great gift!

  5. Kelli
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:46:15

    Hey Y.C!! Glad to see you’re feeling better…better enough to cook more yumminess!! =) In the words of Homer…Thank you, Jebus. Just finished reading all of the “holiday” blogs and my stomach hurts (again!..been sick too). Hurting from all of the laughing and hunger pains! Eveything looks SO good (way to go Meh-men–the new camera really makes her dishes stand out) and I simply love potatoe pancakes with a little applesauce. And by the way..it was Papa’s fav too =) Can’t wait to see to you to hear all about the rest of your holiday with the family!

