ffwD: Leek & Potato Soup

HAPPY NEW YEAR’S EVE!

With 2011 almost here, I have so much on my mind (as do most of you!) Things like where to go for the holiday, what to wear, and what to serve are all-consuming of my focus right now. Plus, I’m already organizing my thoughts for a proper attempt to stick with a New Year’s resolution this year, thanks to Steph at Bite by Bite!

As such, I felt like this week’s ffwD recipe, leek & potato soup, was being thrown together at the last second. I wasn’t giving it the proper attention it deserved. I hadn’t fully read the recipe beforehand. The ingredients were picked up haphazardly on Wednesday with a fleeting thought to skip this week’s submission altogether. Making this soup was, at best, an afterthought.

However, I’m pleased that I did make time for this soup. I left the soup chunky, despite my kneejerk reaction to seeing whole milk and thinking that the soup must be creamy and smooth. I threw in some leftover mixed veggies that consisted mainly of corn, which added nice dots of color throughout the bowl. And, I served the soup warm because the thought of cold potato soup bothered me. Overall, this soup was pretty satisfying. It reminded me of a tasty a chowder and had me sitting long enough to enjoy a bowl with some toasted French baguette slices slathered with shallot and garlic spread.

The recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steph - stephsbitebybite
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 07:47:52

    I’m so excited that you’re taking a different approach to the resolution process 🙂 You’ll have to keep me updated! I’m hoping this will be a better way to stick to those darn resolutions! Happy New Year!

  2. Cher
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 08:05:31

    Glad you were able to sneak this soup in. I think it was one of the best recipes of the month! And the corn is a perfect variation.
    Good luck with your New Year’s goals!

  3. gaaarp
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 08:58:15

    Your soup looks great! I like the addition of the vegetables. I pureed mine a bit, and really liked it that way.

    You should make this again in the summer, and give it a try cold. You might surprise yourself.

    Happy new year!

  4. Becky
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 10:15:22

    looks wonderful!! wish I would’ve added more veggies too!!

  5. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 11:30:34

    Yum, Yum! I left mine chunky too and loved it. Good luck with your resolutions, I hope your new strategy is a success. Happy New Year!

  6. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 15:11:02

    Oh wow! Not only does the soup look amazing, but that bread and spread is calling my name!! Can you send over a tub of that spread?? 😉 Happy New Year to you!!

  7. Flourchild
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 18:47:36

    Looks perfect! I loved this soup!!
    Happy New Year!!

  8. Allison
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 21:49:43

    Thanks for the NYE resolutions inspiration! I’m totally checking out Bite by Bite!

    Hmmm your soup looks delish!

  9. Trevor Sis Boom
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 22:02:07

    Afterthought or not I’m glad you made it. I had to sit this week out (carrots) but I take delight in yours. Last year my resolution was simple: no more store bought salad dressings. Something I actually succeeded at! Now I have to think of a new one….
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  10. Ker-Yng
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 16:12:49

    Your soup looks really hearty!
    Have a wonderful 2011!

  11. betsy
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 19:39:32

    I’m glad you were able to squeeze this one it. Your chunky soup looks great. I pureed mine, but when I make it again, I’m going to try it chunky! Happy New Year!

  12. Elaine
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 23:56:30

    It certainly doesn’t look like an after thought! I’m glad you made it. Happy New Year!

  13. Lana
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 03:12:40

    I like the look of your soup. It looks like comfort food we should eat these days (it won’t stop raining here in SoCal!)
    I’ll have to try to leave the chunks in next time.
    Thanks for all your kind words:)

