Christmas Rewind!

I hope everyone had a great Christmas! I know I did! I’m always amazed whenever I receive presents now because I assume that the older I get, the more I’m going to give than receive. Don’t get me wrong. I love giving presents and seeing my family’s reactions when they get something unexpected. However, it’s always an awesome surprise when you get something.

I received a ton of presents, but several of them were food related because of this blog! For instance, I got the cookbook that started it all:

My sister (Codename: DNS Engineer) likes the red ribbon bookmark

And I got a bunch of stuff to help make cooking and baking easier!

100% Bamboo cutting board

A pretty purple glass dish to showcase my food on Yummy Chunklet!

Clockwise from top left: Clip-on-the-pot spoon rest, Egg separator, Food thermometer, $50 Gift card to Sur La Table

My co-worker (Codename: Tasha) also bought me a digital food scale! Yes, I actually received this a couple of weeks ago at my firm’s office party, but my sister offered to re-wrap it so I could open it again on Christmas!

Thanks, Tasha!

It’s also a running gag in my family to make me look as crazy as possible because, according to my sisters, I have the most boring profession ever and describe me as a “serious, scary attorney”. This is not the case, but it’s no use trying to change the minds of a psychology graduate student, a nursing student, and a biomedical and mechanical engineering student. Yeah, they’re bigger nerds than I am.

Anyway, they bought me cookie cutters that make sense. For instance, my “real” name begins with a “K” and our family loves cats. So, I received:

However, I don’t know how in the world the next two cookie cutters fit into the holidays:

Um...Yeah. That's a foot and a continental United States cookie cutter.

The “best” present I received this year was probably the flu bug my baby nieces gave me! Yay! Since they had no money for presents, they had to give me something that they already had and could share with me, like fever, chills, body aches, and fun trips to the bathroom! Isn’t that thoughtful of them? The flu kept me out of commission and out of the kitchen for most of the holiday, which explains my lack of posting. Thankfully, my mother, aunt and Chunklet’s mom were all in town for Christmas, so kitchen duty was shared by all of us. However, I’ve almost completely shaken the bug and should be back to my normal self soon. Cheers!

Giving the "flu bug present" is tiring on babies!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 00:07:56

    Aw! What nice gifts! You should try the pie crust from the Joy of Cooking book; it’s delicious. You’re going to have to show us the America cookies and foot cookies! I also hope to see you use that really pretty purple dish on your blog!

  2. Andrew
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 00:18:51

    Cool! It looks like a good christmas! Whose idea was the foot cookie cutter? That’s kind of interesting….I’m sorry to hear about the flu though, glad you’re feeling better! Merry Christmas, even though it’s a few days too late.

  3. Cakelaw
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 05:03:33

    Sorry to hear that you have been unwell – that’s a bummer over Christmas. Hope you are feeling better now. You received some fab pressies – especially love the chopping board and cookie cutters.

  4. Quay Po Cooks
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 07:59:20

    So sorry you are not well on Christmas. Hope you feel better. Those cookie cutters are way cool! Happy New Year to you and your family.

  5. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:49:57

    Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather, but glad you’re feeling better! Your little nieces are adorable.🙂 Love all of your nifty kitchen gifts. I’ve worn out one Joy of Cooking- it was the first cookbook I got when I got my first apartment after college a million years ago.🙂

  6. curtorimfoodieszone
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 05:05:39

    Hey Yummy C , i was replyn to ur comment on my blog and came to say huloo🙂 when i saw i had missed this post and i loveeee these kinda posts:-)
    I recvd cooking stuff too for Christmas🙂
    And totally lovee shoppn at SurLatable , my heart embossed red cake plate is from there!
    And ur nieces are soooo cuteeeee!
    ha ha , love ur cookie cutters , and ur family is cool so is ur baby sis!
    Happy day pal!!!

