ffwD: Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots

MERRY (almost) CHRISTMAS EVE!

I know that most people are completely short on time right now, so I’ll spare everyone an insanely long post! This week, I chose spiced butter-glazed carrots. What can I say about carrots? They’re not my favorite vegetable. (Broccoli). I don’t feed them first to the carriage horses on Michigan Avenue. (Apples). And, they’re not the one of the first foods I look for when I’m in a snacky mood. (Anything else).

But, this recipe was so simple and made the carrots so tasty, that I’d consider including it in my side dish rotation! I didn’t do anything fancy with this recipe other than substitute 1 tablespoon of ground cardamon instead of the bruised pods. And as you can tell, I took the easy way out and purchased a bag of pre-wavy cut sliced carrots instead of prepping the carrots myself.

The recipe for this dish can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cher
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 10:07:06

    Merry Christmas! Glad you found some enjoyment in a non-loved veggie. Hey – and what would we all do without our shortcuts?

  2. Teresa
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 12:26:47

    I love the way the carrots look – that alone is worth buying the pre-cut ones! Happy Christmas!

  3. Cakelaw
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 20:25:27

    Glad you liked these. I won’t get round to making them because I have gone to my family for a week. I bought the carrots but time ran out. Happy holidays!

  4. Liz
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 21:12:21

    I made these, too! Easy and yummy for this busy holiday week! Nice with the wavy carrots 🙂

  5. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 23:33:15

    These look so good! I love cooked carrots- I may make these for Christmas dinner. I hope you have a very Merry Christmas!

  6. Elaine
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 09:20:01

    I like the ruffled look! I haven’t made these yet and didn’t have a chance to make something to post for FFwD, but I wanted to wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas!

  7. Karen
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 10:53:06

    Isn’t it the season for shortcuts? 🙂 Glad these may make there way into side dish rotation! That is a good recipe!

  8. Trevor Sis Boom
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 12:26:13

    This is the dish of the month I have been looking forward to the least. The ruffle cut, however, may just give this the wiff of whimsey I need to get motivated. Thanks for your post!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  9. StephIrey
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 13:30:55

    Love the crinkle cut carrots…perhaps I’ll have to try that next week with my new cuisnart. This is my last recipe to make and hopefully I’ll get to it. Merry Christmas!

  10. Serene
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 14:39:50

    I love carrots. Love love love them. But it’s warm spices like cardamom, cinnamon, and nutmeg that I don’t care for. I’m curious to see if I’ll love these or hate them.

  11. Christina
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 23:53:56

    I didn’t love these as much as I thought I would. I love your wavy carrots – maybe that would help me like them more next time!

  12. Lana
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 00:52:29

    Chunklet, you are too funny! I admire your tenacity to stick to “the menu” and make the veggies you do not really like.
    I still have to make them, but I assume that I would love them I DO like carrots:)
    Happy Holidays to you!

  13. Andrew
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 00:43:15

    Those look great! I like making glazed carrots, my mom has a recipe that looks kind of similar, based on the picture at least. I’m also of the opinion that carrots need some dressing up to make them appetizing.

