Something Simple

Last night was my law firm’s Christmas party! We started the evening’s festivities with appetizers, Moscato d’Asti, and our annual gift exchange. Then, we headed downtown to eat dinner and dessert at Cibo Matto. Finally, we made our way to The Cadillac Palace and enjoyed a wonderful performance of Wicked The Musical.

Because of all the “merriment” I enjoyed last night, my energy level was a little low today. I still needed to eat, so I put together a simple Caesar salad with grilled chicken.

What provided a bit of motivation to do something extra was one of the Christmas gifts I received from my co-worker, (Codename: Tasha). She gave me a lovely white platter because of an off-hand remark I made the other day while contemplating whether to purchase a solid white plate to better accentuate the food I make for this blog. She is so thoughtful! Anyway, because the white platter Tasha gave me was so pretty, I decided to “dress up” my Caesar salad by making a Parmesan cheese basket for the salad. I chopped up some organic rosemary, sprinkled it on top of a circle of Parmesan, and baked it for about 10 minutes on 350 degrees. When I pulled it out of the oven, I quickly flipped the cheese circle over onto an upside-down ramekin.

Parmesan cheese with chopped organic rosemary

After that, I just tossed all my other ingredients together and placed them inside the cooled basket! Yum!

Thank you for the plate, Tasha!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 22:41:35

    That’s pretty plate; I bet we’ll be seeing more of it on your blog?
    You know what’s good with Caesar salad are those cheese biscuits from Red Lobster…bottomless biscuits…you should make those!

  2. Summer
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 02:47:38

    Oh the plate is soooo pretty, i love it too , can Tasha share the link with me so i can pick one too?
    Ur party sounds fun , sooo muc , and the gift exchange fantastic!!!
    And the food , delicious!
    ha ha , yeah a platter as pretty would motivate me too , and yeah white is the best!!
    and that was very thoughtful of Tasha!!!

  3. Cakelaw
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 03:26:09

    What a lovely platter and a thoughtful co-worker. Wicked is a wonderful musical – it teaches us that we should not make judgements without first “walking in the other person’s shoes”, as Atticus Finch might say – although in the hurly burly of life this can be quite difficult to do. Lovely salad too.

  4. Tasha
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 13:15:05

    This salad looks soooo good, maybe I’ll try it next week, I also love your plate.

  5. Cher
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 20:29:05

    Pretty cool concept – and great plate!

  6. frolickingnightowl
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 21:31:51

    Oh! Thanks for the tips and instructions on how to make the lovely little cheese bowl!! I’ll have to try it sometime.

  7. Andrew
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 21:59:27

    I like the idea of a Parmesan cheese basket holding the salad. The white serving plate is a nice touch, it compliments the dish very well.

  8. Elaine
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 23:30:54

    It sounds like you had a lovely Christmas party and I bet the Wicked musical was so much fun. What a great idea to make a cheese bowl for your salad! I love your new platter – what a thoughtful friend you have!

  9. Serene
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 22:41:27

    Oh, what a great idea! I’ll be stealing it soon.šŸ™‚

