Weekend Food

Almond Sole Meunière

This weekend, I regained my zeal for cooking and baking after the overdrive of Thanksgiving. I suppose it wasn’t really lost, just depleted. So, I took a few days, let my kitchen batteries recharge, and now I’m back in full force!

Armed with a renewed sense of excitement and an army of cookbooks, I found several new dishes to try for Sunday dinner. I made Dorie Greenspan’s almond sole meunière from Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes From My Home to Yours. The original recipe actually calls for flounder but my local grocer was out, so I settled for sole per the butcher’s suggestion. While making this dish, I realized very quickly that I needed a bigger pan because flipping the delicate sole required a lot of room to maneuver. I ended up cooking each fillet by itself. I’m not even going to bother posting a photo of the one fillet that essentially broke apart because I kept having to push it against another fillet.

I also made Dorie’s spiced butter-glazed carrots, which just happens to be one of the ffwD assignments! (I’ll save my comments on that dish for Friday.) I rounded out this delicate meal with a fun little drink called a poinsettia from Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Christmas cookbook. This drink consists of a bottle of Prosecco, 1/2 c. of Grand Marnier, and 2 c. cranberry juice. Simple! It is bubbly, refreshing and delicious. And, it looks good in a glass!

On a side note, my friend who is a surgical oncology resident (Codename: Candelabra) was recently applying to fellowships around the country. Late last week, she found out that she matched in Annapolis, Maryland! Though she won’t be here in Chicago, this fellowship in Annapolis is a coveted and prestigious opportunity! So, cheers to Candelabra! Here’s hoping your important work continues to make strides in curing breast cancer and gives women the hope and strength to stay strong. And the poinsettia in the glass has a slightly pinkish hue, so that’s a good sign!

Cheers, Candelabra! Good luck in Annapolis!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 17:18:36

    All of these look yummy!!! AND…we can meet up to visit Annapolis some time! 🙂

  2. NN
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 18:29:32

    Julia Child described eating sole meuniere in “My Life in France.” (I promise I will finally finish reading it someday and give it to you…) So that’s what it looks like…..

    Thanks for the cheers (and the drink is from Nigella!)… Annapolis will be fun!

    Crabcakes, anyone?

  3. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 18:41:57

    I’m sure the sole was just as delicious in this dish as the flounder would have been- It looks fabulous! Your cocktail sounds refreshing as well. I love cranberry drinks. 🙂 Congratulations to Candelabra!

  4. Yum Yucky
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 22:25:13

    holy fish sticks!! okay, okay, that waay better than fish sticks. It look fantastic. And hats off to Candelabra!

  5. Cher
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 07:00:52

    Ah. Fish sounds so absolutely divine (but any thing that doesn’t involve feathers sounds great right about now). I wish you gave us a hint on the carrots – do we really have to wait until Friday?

  6. beth@thescreenporch
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 09:04:58

    Yum… Reminds me of My life in France by the great Julia. And that cocktail look so refreshing. Happy Holidays.. B:)

  7. blackbookkitchendiaries
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 11:12:54

    this is my favorite!! wow… i really love how pretty it looks too. thanks for sharing. have a nice day.

  8. Cakelaw
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 15:20:13

    Congrats to Candelabra – and what a fdab drink to help her celebrate. The fish looks devine – I have made a few other things from Around My French Table too, and all have been good so far.

  9. Summer
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 11:47:19

    Oh what a delightful meal , i love the Sole as well as the carrot pairing!
    and love how cutely creative NL gets with names!
    And gurl u did fantastic to pair these beautfully together!
    Yeah the drink sure does look pretty!

  10. Elaine
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 22:05:25

    Mmm…I love sole and this looks so very good. I bet the poinsettia was good too! Best of luck to Candelabra.

  11. Serene
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 13:46:24

    I was a vegetarian for a long time, and I’m only just getting really into eating fish, and discovering I love it. This looks just up my alley.

  12. Trackback: Happy Easter! « Yummy Chunklet
