Snowfall & Anne of Green Gables

Decorated bushes

The view from my balcony

Lake Michigan is in the distance 2 blocks from me

Friday night we got our first snowfall of the season in Chicago. I was so inspired that I walked to the grocery store and took pictures of my neighborhood along the way. It’s still snowing, and I’m back in the spirit of cooking and baking new things!

When I returned, my local PBS station, WTTW, was airing an Anne of Green Gables marathon. The books were so great to read growing up, and my family did the “environmentally sound” and “fiscally responsible” thing by borrowing the videos from the public library! It’s such an arcane and simple idea compared to the media availability now. I arrived at the part where Anne forgot to put the cheesecloth on top of the sauce for Marilla’s plum pudding. And right there, I got the urge to make something from Prince Edward Island. I found a P.E.I. tourism site that had a bunch of recipes and chose partridge berry loaf with hot sauce. However, my grocery store did not have any partridge berries, so I substituted frozen mixed berries instead.The brown sugar sauce has no viscosity like I thought it would. It really is just a sauce to spoon over the slice in order to make it moist. But, the end result is just so yummy. Make sure to have plenty of milk on hand when you eat this!

A slice of mixed berry loaf with brown sugar sauce

Mixed Berry Loaf with Brown Sugar Sauce
(adapted from tourismpei.com)
1/2 c. butter
3/4 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. frozen mixed berries, thawed
2/3 c. milk

Beat butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, milk and the mixed berries being careful not to crush the berries. Fold berry mixture into butter mixture. Fold into greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 F. for 45 minutes.

Hot Sauce
1 c. brown sugar
3/4 c. water
1 tbsp. butter
1 tsp. vanilla or rum, to taste

Place first three ingredients in a sauce pan and boil until bubbly. Slowly then add 1 tsp. vanilla or rum to taste. Drizzle on sliced berry loaf.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 20:28:08

    Snow always puts me in a baking mood! Your berry loaf looks so delicious- I love Anne of Green Gables, and Prince Edward Island is a place I really would love to visit.🙂

  2. Jessica
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 22:37:09

    Anne of Green Gables, yay! There’s a part where Anne gets Diana drunk and asks her to eat some cake. At this point, the cake she puts in front of Diana looks like Stove Top, and thus makes me crave some Stove Top. I also like the pictures you included of your neighborhood, very pretty snowfall. Did you know there’s a shot of your neighborhood in the movie, Stranger than Fiction? I like pointing it out to friends when we watch that movie.

  3. Serene
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 22:39:23

    Oh, wow, that looks really tasty. There’s almost nothing I like better than sweet berries, yum.

  4. Andrew Moore
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 23:20:12

    The loaf looks really good! Good deserts always go well with snowy weather.

  5. steph - stephsbitebybite
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 10:08:29

    Wishing I had some snowy bushes at my house. I also wish I had a piece of your yummy looking loaf cake! Mized berries are so yummy!

  6. Anne Marie
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 10:38:59

    I miss snow. Thanks for the pictures. I am happy that you now own cayenne. We probably use too much of it in Texas

  7. Cher
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 15:55:03

    I am looking at the window, watching the snow come down (but fortunately, it isn’t sticking yet). Great weather for baking!

    Ah, I haven’t seen Anne in a very long time. I used to secretly want to be her🙂

  8. Elaine
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 20:23:07

    Your pictures of the first snowfall are lovely – I miss the snow! I love Anne of Green Gables and will have to watch again this holiday season. The loaf looks wonderful.

  9. Cakelaw
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 05:28:55

    How cool – I loved the Anne of Green Gables books and mini series when I was in high school. I wanted to meet my own Gilbert Blythe – sadly, this has not eventuated. And the fact that you made a recipe that was like Marilla would have made – fabulous! It looks delicious. I have never heard of partridge berries, and you can be sure that we don’t get them here.

  10. Kelli
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 15:33:28

    HA! I watched that Anne of Green Gables marathon too on WTTW. But your Berry Loaf would have been a pefect compliment to enjoy while watching such a classic! A classic with a classic…well done, Y.C, well DONE!! =)

  11. Kathy
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 06:26:34

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I see no reason you could’t change the anise out for cinnamon or even some other spice. I happen to love the flavor of anise. I love your post..always loved watching Anne of Green Gables. It is never too early to start a tradition! Give them each a rolling pin and some dough and don’t forget the sprinkles….they’ll love it!

  12. Mary
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 19:11:01

    That’s so funny about Anne of Green Gables! I always found her the most annoying chatterbox, but I think reading the books was part of the Canadian curriculum. I did love the show on Sunday nights, though. Also, did you know she is very popular in Japan? I got asked about her a lot when I was there, and last year when I went to PEI there so many Japanese tourists, shocked that she wasn’t real. Strange, isn’t it? Oh, but the cake looks yummy–there’s snow here too, and I could use a slice with a cup of tea.🙂

  13. pragmaticattic
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 20:09:21

    Oh, I love Anne of Green Gables. What a great idea to make a recipe from PEI!

