ffwD: Speculoos

Anyone experiencing a lack of food interest this week? Maybe it’s just me. Maybe the big hoopla surrounding Thanksgiving LAST THURSDAY made this week’s meals lackluster in comparison. Maybe having leftovers again, and again, and again ruined the idea of making anything that would leave uneaten food behind. Maybe coming back to work from a long weekend would make this week feel so draining. Maybe…

But then, in my state of blah, I found a light in the tunnel: French Fridays with Dorie! However, I noticed this on Wednesday night! So, after a quick perusal of the five recipes for this month, speculoos was the winner by default. Mainly because I only lacked one ingredient called for in the recipe. That ingredient? Ginger. Omitting ginger is not a problem for me. You see, I’m not really a fan of ginger. I’ve made many attempts and failed many times to “like” ginger. So if it hasn’t happened yet, it’s probably not going to happen. Surprisingly enough, I love ginger root in soups, but not ginger in baked goods.

Anyway, speculoos sound eerily like gingerbread cookies, which are probably my least favorite cookie. Therefore, I unapologetically omitted the ginger and doubled the cloves. As a crazy side note, all my brown sugar had dried out! So, I placed a few apple slices in the sugar, and an hour later, soft brown sugar! Oooh…soft brown sugar…

I let my dough settle in the refrigerator overnight, which I hope is okay considering that Dorie said the dough would be very soft. An overnight chill was probably better for my dough anyway because my apartment tends to get very warm very quickly. I just eyeballed the dough’s thickness when I rolled it out. The first cookies I punched out ended up slightly thicker than the last ones.

The end result? These cookies were pretty tasty! I made sandwich cookies from the thinner ones with Nutella in the middle per the bonne idee.

Speculoo Nutella sandwich cookie!

As for the thicker cookies, I left some plain and decorated some with a schmear of Nutella. I used a star cookie cutter for the “pretty” photos, like the one up top. But, for fun, I also made bone shaped cookies

Speculoo bones!

and a doggie shaped cookie for my toddler nieces!

Doggie speculoo!

This recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours. While you’re at it, take a look at the other French Fridays with Dorie posts for this week!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stephirey
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:14:52

    Love, love, love the dog and bones! So cute.

  2. Krissy
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 00:00:00

    Very nice looking cookies…I am a cookie monster, sooooooo, I’ll be making these soon. Nice to see how the came together for you.

  3. Gloria
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 00:36:21

    I love the shapes! So cute! I’m excited to try these cookies out. Your nutella filled cookie looks dee-lish!

  4. Jessica
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 02:30:21

    I like the solution of putting apple slices on hardened brown sugar. I should try this next time instead of buying more! Also, were the speculoos soft after baking? I don’t have much experience baking such soft-sounding dough…

    • yummychunklet
      Dec 03, 2010 @ 02:50:52

      The thinner cookies were pretty crispy after they cooled while the thicker cookies were chewier. If your dough is soft, just make sure to keep your dough cool while you’re using the cookie cutters.

  5. Andrew Moore
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 02:33:47

    Hm, those sound really good, I’ve never heard of Speculoos. They look like they would be very filling and satisfying.

  6. Elaine
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 06:45:32

    The dog and bone cookie shapes are so cute. I’m glad you liked them without the ginger. I am going to experiment with the spices the next time I make them. I loved them as sandwich cookies with the nutella, too!

  7. Ann (napangel)
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 06:46:05

    Beautiful cookies! (I especially love the dog and bone shapes.) I can’t wait to make these. I think I’ll make them a little later in the month, just in time for Christmas.

  8. Cher
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 07:12:24

    Oh – Love that that you played with shapes. The dog bones were great. And the Nutella, tres genius! (My #1 is a Nutella freak, I always have to have a jar + one to spare for her)

  9. Sarah
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 08:20:11

    I love all your different shapes, and the sandwich idea is genius! I wonder what other fillings would work? I made the nuts this week, but now I’m interested to see how these cookies will turn out!

  10. Becky
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 10:52:09

    Glad to see they worked-out well for you. I’m a little weary of ginger as well. The stars are very pretty!

  11. Trevor Sis Boom
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 12:30:47

    just fantastic!

    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  12. Mary
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 14:11:56

    These look wonderful! I can’t wait to make these, but am waiting till a bit closer to Christmas so I don’t eat them all myself. Funny about the ginger–I love it in any form, but tend to replace cinnamon in most recipes with cardamom.
    🙂

  13. Hornedfroggy
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 15:16:37

    I love all the shapes! And added Nutella – perfect! 🙂

  14. Kathy
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 19:16:36

    I think this will be my next recipe. I love speculaas. Your’s came out beautiful!
    This week I chose the Beef Daube. It was great.

  15. Cakelaw
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 01:14:29

    Thanks for the tip about the apple in the brown sugar – mine always goes hard so I will have to try it. Your cookies look great – my dough never firmed enough to make shapes.

  16. evilcakelady
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 01:32:21

    i love the dog cookie! oh man, nutella filled speculoos! i sandwiched some caramel between two spicy gingersnaps and it was excellent; was considering doing that with these too. (but…nutella!!) funny, i love ginger in baked goods but i’m teaching myself to love it in savory.

  17. Teresa
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 03:24:11

    Great shapes! Sounds like leaving the dough in the fridge is the right thing to do, as other posters had trouble with the softness of the dough.

  18. Summer
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 12:37:24

    I lovveee the lite in the tunnel , this is the recipe i totally lookkkk forward too , and was thrilled to find it in the list!!
    Love ur shapesss soooo muc too and have lods of ideas myself too!
    The best parts ,this is gng to be a crisp cookie and i loveee that!
    Oh Nutella is so so good with these am sure !!!
    I have received some super fantastic Christmas goodies and they include special cookie Spices which am gng to love playing around here!

    Oh ur cutest shapes babe!

  19. Summer
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 12:38:13

    And i replied too babe
    ♥Sugar♥Plum♥Fairy♥ said…

    @Yummy C, ha ha ha , ur so cute , i love love love that u love them, i baked them for the most special person in my life who loveesss simple cakes and this one was a hit!
    Ha ha ,wish i cud send u a good lod of beans , i know what u mean , blogs and sites totally make me shop so muc more , hope u find some very wodnerful beans !
    December 04, 2010

  20. Ker-Yng
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 14:37:54

    Your cookies look great, the bones one were so cute! My favourite would be the Nutella sandwich one of course. 🙂

  21. Serene
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 22:40:58

    Gotta love the adorable shapes!

  22. Lana
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 02:08:42

    Your cookies look pretty! I love the dogie ones, he, he, but my kids would disown me if I tried that – they are the kitty people.
    I prefer ginger in savory food also, but I am trying my best to get over some of my hang-ups.
    I’ll give these cookies a try, just because it is Dorie’s recipe – working with such a soft dough discourages me a bit.

  23. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 18:47:24

    I think these may be my choice for this week- ginger cookies are my favorites! Yours are really cute- I especially like the little dog. 🙂

  24. pragmaticattic
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 20:12:10

    These look wonderful. My cookies did not keep their crisp edges. I used a fluted round cutter, but the fluting disappeared during baking.

