Weekend Food

Caramel Apple Cider Cookies

I first saw these caramel apple cider cookies on a blog by scrambled hen fruit. I wanted to make them as an after dinner snack on Thanksgiving, but my sister’s girlfriend brought over cookies as her contribution to the meal. Luckily, I had just placed the dough for these cookies in the refrigerator to chill for an hour and hadn’t started unwrapping the caramels. Instead, I just moved the dough into an airtight container and made them this weekend.

The process of unwrapping caramels and then forming the dough around the candies is rather therapeutic in its mindless nature. You can easily form all the cookies while paying attention to something else, like the Star Wars movie marathon! (Just saying!) However, make sure to keep your dough chilled or it will stick to your fingers and be difficult to work around the caramel. To remedy this, I popped my dough in the freezer while I was taking batches of baked cookies out of the oven.

These cookies are yummy, but you really do need to eat them warmed. If not, you’re just biting into a thick caramel that is hard to lick off and sticks to your teeth. I’m suddenly reminded of the book, Farmer Boy, where Almonzo Wilder feeds his pig, Lucy, some warm caramel, and by the next morning, the candy has cooled and essentially sealed Lucy’s mouth shut!

The original recipe suggests you rest the cookie on the rim of your coffee cup, tea cup or cider mug in order to melt the caramel. I found popping them in the microwave for about 10 seconds did the trick! However, the melty caramel did prove a bit difficult to photograph properly, which is why my cookie looks crumbly in my photo. These cookies are a definite must on a cold day. I love the apple cider flavor packets used in the recipe. I may have to try these cookies with my favorite seasonal Starbucks drink, caramel apple cider! Head over to scrambled hen fruit’s blog for the recipe!

On a side note, I was flipping through Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours, and a thought occurred to me. Is it okay to write in my cookbook? In high school, writing in textbooks wasn’t allowed. In college, I took most notes by hand on paper. In law school, I took notes on my laptop. So, for all the tips, variations and substitutions that others mention on their blogs, could I write them directly in the cookbook on the recipe page? I could write on little sticky notes and put them on the page, but then if I ever moved the sticky, a residue would be left on the page. Plus, I’d have a bunch of notes adding to the thickness of the book. I know it sounds strange because it’s my book and I should write in it if I want. But, I never really thought about it until now, and it seems quite an odd thing to do. What do you think?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelli
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 18:14:02

    Hi YC…I think you should you start one of those receipe card boxes–ONLINE! Whenever you find a dish that you really enjoyed with all of the helpful hints and tips, simply log the info onto your online receipe box! We went to the same high school/different colleges, however, I rather enjoy writing in my books. Highlighting different areas of interest or jotting down my own comments/thoughts/ideas always gives me a mental reference point. So, If I can see the page with all of the crazy notes and writing, in my head, for some reason, I can remember what’s on the page. But that’s just me! =)

  2. Cher
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 18:15:41

    The cookies look excellent.

    I am a “neat book” person (as in the type of person who starts hyperventilating when someone breaks the binding of a paperback), but a couple of years ago I started writing any comments directly in my cookbooks (especially when you own more than you should ever admit). Once I realized that the book police weren’t going to haul me off, it really became a great tool for remembering if I liked/ disliked a recipe, made substitutions/ corrections or anything else along the way. So go ahead… it will be okay.

  3. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 19:17:46

    I’m so glad you liked them! They really are best warm- the caramel gets nice and gooey. (And thanks for the link!)
    It was very hard for me to start doing it, but I do write in my own cookbooks. Otherwise I can’t remember if I liked the recipe or if I changed it in any way. (or even if I think I should have changed it!) Go ahead and take the plunge. 🙂

  4. Elaine
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 20:33:56

    Those look SO good! It has been so cold here lately I am sure these would be just the treat to eat on a cold night. I am going to go over and get the recipe. Thanks!

    I think it is your cookbook so you can do whatever you want. I have been photocopying the recipes from AMFT so I can refer to them (and I refer to them often) and just in case I spill something on the pages it is okay because it is a photocopy, but if it is something I want to remember then I will write a note in the book. I do a lot of thrifting and antiquing and have picked up many cookbooks and the one’s I enjoy the most are the ones that have notes written in the margins. I really love knowing that someone has tested the recipes in their home and thought enough to write a note to a future reader.

  5. Jessica
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 21:08:06

    You have ownership of the book, which means you get to write in it! With marker if you wanted to!

  6. Molly
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:00:42

    Love the Star Wars Marathon!

    And I think it’s great to write in the cookbooks, it really personalizes them and makes them your own. Additionally, you won’t forget which recipes you enjoy and how you tweaked them if you have that info in a separate place! Also your family will then know how to tweak them as well if you share your book 🙂

  7. Andrew Moore
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 01:28:08

    Cool, those sound good. I’ve never read that book, I’ll have to check it out. Poor Lucy….

  8. Jenna
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 11:36:08

    I thought those cookies looked familiar! =) Anyway, they look great. I love the filling and the picture of it oozing out. Mmm.

  9. Cakelaw
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 15:04:02

    Yes! I remember seeing these on Scrambled Hen Fruit, and I printed off the recipe – but there is so much going on that I haven’t made them yet. Yours look scrumptious!

  10. Cakelaw
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 15:05:42

    PS I think you should write in your book – it is meant to be used!

  11. Mary
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 17:52:07

    definitely write in your book….Dorie would want us to! Besides, we need a place to take notes and write about our cool variations. I remember getting yelled at for drawing in my books in school!

  12. evilcakelady
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 18:54:45

    write in your book! it is the best place to keep your thoughts or variations on the recipe.

  13. Steph@stephsbitebybite
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 10:15:12

    These cookies look so delicious!! I always write in my books so that it’s right next to the recipe. I also rate them on a star system. 1 star = yuck, 5 stars = YUM!!!

  14. Flourchild
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 10:38:48

    By all means write in your cookbook. I write in ALL of my cookbooks..I write the day I made the recipe if it’s good or not. In the front I write down fav. pages from the cookbook. I love to look back at my older cookbooks and see the things I wrote..it’s pretty fun!
    These cookies remind me of the cookies I make at Christmas time with the snickers in the middle..I love them! This recipe looks amazing! I would like mine warm too!

  15. Summer
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 12:42:45

    Oh my God , i ahve these bookmarked too and my Kraft caramels have jus arrived and i think m gng to bake these next!
    I have spiced and caramel apple cider too but some more is on the way so was thinkn i i should wait.
    I thought about the caramel too , coz though i do loveee caramel ,i did a few test and saw it gets way to chewy later which i dont like !
    Im still playing around a lot ,and am enjoying all the delicious delites and am hoping i come around with something soon, coz i would need to bake these cookies way longer , coz i love them crisp!!
    Ofcourse i loveee writing on my cook books but have jus begun buildn my collection which is a few months old, after i began bloggn , so when its new , i get lods of pretty stationery and there are all sorts of sticks on my books , then later u’ll find me buyn some pretty inks and pens,lol!

