Thanksgiving Rewind

A full plate...before the demolishing

I’m still feeling the effects from Thursday’s turkey haze. We’ll have leftovers for a good bit of time! This year’s cooking taught me a couple of things:

Always buy more butter. When I went grocery shopping last weekend, I bought two boxes of butter to freeze. (I knew I would need them for future ffwD recipes!) Foolishly, I thought that the one unused box plus two sticks I already had in the refrigerator would be enough for my Thanksgiving dishes.  Nope!  I ended up also needing the two boxes from the freezer.

Always remember what’s going on in your kitchen. Because I had to use frozen butter, the task of getting it to room temperature became an on-going task, stick by stick. This posed a problem with the parades, tv show marathons, Kung Fu Panda marathon and endless phone calls serving as distractions. I was so distracted that I forgot one stick was “thawing” on the stove. By the time I checked it, the butter had melted to liquid consistency and gotten EVERYWHERE.

Doubling the nutmeg can sometimes mask a lack of cinnamon. Somehow, I miscalculated the amount of cinnamon I had in my cupboards. I thought I had half a container. I actually had NONE. Oh, well, I just doubled or substituted in nutmeg where necessary. Yes, I know they’re very different flavors, but one holiday spice is better than none!

Extra pumpkin pie filling makes a great “custard” snack while cooking. I always seem to make more filling or batter than I have room in my pan. Today’s pumpkin pie was no different. However, the recipe I used was so yummy, there was no way I was going to throw out extras. So, I popped the extra filling into two ramekins and baked them along with the pie. My sister and I had a nice snack while making other dishes!

Pancetta AND ham in one dish? Amazing. You can never go wrong with a savory dish when pancetta and ham are used. This made my very first experience with Brussels sprouts VERY pleasant! Per my friend’s request (Codename: GPL), I leave you with some fun photos of our Thanksgiving meal. I hope  your holiday was as delicious as mine!

Brussels sprouts with pancetta and ham

Mashed potatoes with skins

Slow-cooker applesauce

Rice

Green bean casserole

Roasted turkey breasts

Gino's Good Time Cookies

Pumpkin Nutella cake

Pumpkin & sweet potato pie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cher
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 10:54:39

    Wow. Sounds like you were very busy!

    If it makes you feel any better, I started out with about 6 pounds of butter and by the time I was done with all my cooking, I finished up with one and a half sad little boxes left in the refrigerator…

  2. Mary
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 11:55:16

    What a feast! It all looks fantastic, as Thanksgiving is 6 weeks behind me and I won’t be getting any of that stuff till Christmas. Good advice too–especially the butter. It’s expensive here, so I go a bit nuts when it’s on sale. Every time I open my freezer a pound falls out. Your pie looks fantastic, and I do the custard cup thing too. Definitely make a pie with the applesauce–just cook it on the stove a bit to get rid of any extra liquid.🙂

  3. Jessica
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 17:14:25

    I tried your cheater cheesecake that you posted about a month ago, and my roommates loved it! It is now all gone. Butter melting on the oven top happened to me as well when I was trying to soften the butter for the cheater cheesecake!

  4. Ker-Yng
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 20:39:26

    That’s a lot of food you made! Thanks for sharing your ‘lessons’.🙂

  5. Summer
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 12:34:41

    Oh what a lovely rewind!
    Love all ur tips and notes and yeah we do buy extra butter , a bit back there was a shortage of our local brand of butter and we didn even coz we had lods inside and by the time we finished that , it was back in stock:-)
    Oh that caramel looks lovely too!
    And am having a giggle at all ur over thinking thoughts:-)
    Happy sunday with love!

  6. Andrew
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 00:15:55

    I noticed the Stove Top in the first picture….why no close up? We had Stove Top, it is a staple of a good thanksgiving dinner. The food all looks like it came out well!

    • yummychunklet
      Nov 29, 2010 @ 02:15:53

      You know, I think I did have pictures of the Stove Top, but none of them came out clear enough to post. And, yes, it definitely is a Thanksgiving staple!

  7. stephirey
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 09:10:01

    Everything looks amazing! Hard to believe I can even consider looking at food after the past four days of eating non-stop! I agree about the butter…I bought tons and ended up needing most of it. Love the pancetta AND ham in the brussel sprouts! Glad you had such a lovely holiday.

