ffwD–Roast chicken for les parresseux

See the golden crispy skin?

My choice for this week’s French Fridays with Dorie is Roast Chicken for Les Parresseux, or Lazy People! This roast chicken was delicious! The bird itself turned out extremely moist while the roast veggies were tender with just a bit of bite. As for the baguette base, I was able to salvage a couple of solid pieces, but I think I may have used too much olive oil because the other pieces came out mushy and mixed in with the veggies. Oh, well.

My sister, her girlfriend and I devoured this chicken! It’s on its way to becoming a Friday night staple! The only other roast chicken recipe that might rival this one is by Jaime Oliver where he instructs you to carefully separate the skin from the bird without tearing it. Then, you shove butter and chopped herbs in between the two, creating a self-basting chicken while still crisping up the skin. But, I’m seeing that many of the ffwD-ers did that to their chickens already. Did I skip an instruction?

On a side note, I’m not entirely sure if my chicken was supposed to be this golden. The top photo you see was the only one that accurately represents how my chicken turned out. I looked at several other posts, and the other chickens were much lighter in color than mine. Was I supposed to cover the chicken while it roasted? Because I left my bird uncovered. Did I skip another instruction? Maybe I shouldn’t try to make three of the four month’s recipes all in one meal…

In any case, the photos at the bottom turned out lighter. I think there could be one of several issues (or a combination thereof):
1. My camera, while I love it, is behind the times. I received it as a gift upon graduating law school in 2004.
2. I prepared the chicken at night, so natural light is out of the question, especially now with daylight savings time no longer in effect. Anyone else waking up in total darkness and then going home in total darkness?
3. Despite reading the manual a couple of times, I’m still not entirely sure which settings work the best for nighttime, indoor, close-up pictures. (I find that setting the camera to “P” for program then pressing another button till a picture of a dot in a rectangle and a flower appear on the screen work well. Also, I can “sense” that the picture might turn out well if the millisecond before the shutter snaps, I can see a sharper, more defined image on my screen.)

Oh, well. I seemed to have rambled more than usual in this post. It could be the chicken haze I’m experiencing or the giddyness of Thanksgiving next week! Anyone know if this cooking technique would work on the Thanksgiving turkey?

As always, the recipe for roast chicken for les parresseux can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

The skin turned out darker than the photo shows

The roasted veggies for a side!

Mmm...

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cher
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 03:12:30

    I did mine with the cover off too. I don’t think it said which way to go. I had the same thought about the turkey. Great minds…. Also had the mushy base (which was fused to my pot).

  2. Elaine
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 06:42:12

    I did this recipe this week and I roasted mine without the cover as well and it turned out golden brown like yours. We absolutely loved this and it will become a staple in my home. I’m glad you and your family enjoyed it!

  3. Summer
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 08:09:29

    I love how ur chicken turned , honestly its beautiful!!
    Mine was dark too , but then my oven takes double the time for every baked goodie and i jus have to rely on the aroma that fills around:-)

    U have studied ur camera really well , mine is a gift too, not a year yet , but m loving it !

    Can imagine how muc u loved it and yeah i did bake stuffed chicken for easter with stuffing inbetween the skin, wish i had gone to Jamie’s recipe, jus made up my own recipe and it was super delish but am sure Jamie wud rock!!

    Oh i love the rambling , and i think this recipe would work for any bird roast ,but ur baking time would depend on ur oven and size of the bird!

    all the best and looking forward:-)

  4. Flourchild
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 08:42:45

    That is the best golden chicken I’ve ever seen! I love it!! I hope you do try the SP..soooo yummy:)!

  5. beth@thescreenporch
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 08:53:08

    Chicken haze Ha Ha I love t hat your chicken is so golden and that you enjoyed it. I made it last week and thought it was super. great post…B

  6. stephirey
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 09:08:27

    Your chicken looks perfect! I think that’s absolutely the color you should be going for, especially if the chicken is juicy and yummy! I’m not sure this technique will work with turkey, because of the high temperature…I think the outer turkey might burn/brown too much before the inner is done. However, I don’t have a ton of experience with turkeys…so maybe someone else has better insight.

  7. Becky
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 09:26:50

    I LOVE the color of your chicken. I wish mine would’ve turned out that dark, but I did cover mine, so maybe that’s why is lighter?? The recipe didn’t say whether or not to cover it, but it sounds like either way, everyone has had success.

  8. Candy Girl
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 09:39:05

    My chicken was really golden too and I left the lid off. I think this is how it’s supposed to be! Looks great.

  9. Krissy
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 09:52:43

    Your chicken looks perfect! I put the lid on, making a more sickly looking bird, but it was very tasty. The visual effect of a nicely roasted and brown colored bird is just what you want! Looks so much more appetizing. Great job!!!

  10. Rebecca
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 10:51:33

    I loved it too– I want to put bread under ever single thing I roast from now on. Gorgeous pictures: it’s so lovely and golden!!

  11. Jessica of My Baking Heart
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 11:34:19

    Looks amazing! So glad you enjoyed it – it’s one of my new favorites! πŸ™‚

  12. Sarah
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 11:47:27

    THis looks absolutely delicious! My sister made this last week, but I’m thinking I’m going to have to try it out for myself!

  13. Kathy
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 12:11:26

    Your chicken looks amazing! I also truly enjoyed this chicken recipe. I know it will become my new ‘go to’ for a quick satisfying dinner.

  14. Kelli
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 15:14:27

    Hey Y.C…you know I work in tv/radio and I can tell you, from a professional point of view, your chicken could play on ANY commercial for ANY food/cooking ad and/or show!! I’ve been to your home, so I understand your lighting concerns, however…I could eat my monitor…BEST LOOK’N BIRD I’VE EVER SEEN…YUMMY, INDEED!!!

  15. Jessica
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 18:26:15

    The bird looks good. Was the skin nice and crunchy? That’s one of my favorite parts even though its fatty. I too wake up in darkness and go home in darkness; I don’t get to see the sun at all, but I will again in the spring!

  16. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 19:03:03

    Your chicken is beautiful! I’m pretty sure that the instructions said to leave the lid off- I love the golden brown color that results! I’m not loving the early darkness either- I don’t get much daylight time at home, which makes for a difficult time getting decent photos.

  17. NN
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 19:15:55

    YOU KEEP ON COOKING ALL THE TIME!!

    That’s good, though. I might lick the screen.

    BTW, I’m still at work. And hungry 😦 Now hungrier.

  18. steph - stephsbitebybite
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 19:30:09

    Looks de-lish-ous!

  19. Trevor Sis Boom
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 22:27:08

    Ms. Chunlet your bird is gorgeous! I cook only at night so I have a beastly time with photos. I learned to use a tripod and not use a flash as that flash just ruins everything. Also read the manual to learn about ‘white balance’. That helped me a great deal as well.
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  20. Ker-Yng
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 22:34:24

    I love the beautiful golden crispy skin on your chicken! I think the recipe doesn’t tell you to season under the skin as well because that’s not something lazy people would do! πŸ˜‰

  21. Patti
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 17:04:23

    Every roast chicken should look like that! Great job.

  22. Lana
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 22:10:03

    Chunklet, do not complain about the color of your chicken! It looks gorgeous! You can tell that it’s crispy and delicious – what else would you want?

    I am battling the photography demons, too. I started a photo class just to learn the basics. One of these days it will all click:)

    I still have to make the chicken. That’s the only recipe left for November. i hope mine looks liker yours:)

  23. Tasha
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 10:45:27

    Looks delicious, Maybe I’ll try this at home.

  24. Summer
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:43:23

    Hi ,im back here with a request the details of which am leaving in the next comment:-)

  25. Summer
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:43:45

    Hi ,please eeee ,pinky promise pleaseee ,help mee….and tell ur frens about this too:-)))
    and post on ur wall too , if u can :-),voting ends in a day or 2!
    Can u please take a moment or 2 and vote for me , i so muc want to win this and have acess only to 3 connections and only 1 vote is allowed per computer:-(
    here are the details will be so gratefull for this!!

    ……Mia Summer Sunday Rose
    Says
    hullo to all her sunshine Pals….please vote for me
    Hi happy sunshine
    Pal , im here today coz i need ur help, ur votes to win a hamper @
    holiday exchange and if u wanna join in next week ,lemme know and i
    will vote for u too!!!I have loved having u over at my blog and would love and be grateful for ur support now,…
    if i make it it will only be coz of u guys!

    For voting please hop here

    http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2010/11/vanilla-salted-caramel-hot-chocolate.html#comments

    21. BLUSHING VANILLA SNICKERDOODLES

    have 2 entries but please vote for the blushing Vanilla Snicker doodles
    21. BLUSHING VANILLA SNICKERDOODLES

    there will be a little yellow star that says vote ,please click on that:-)

    thanking u for ur valuable time and love,
    Warmest regards,
    mia.

  26. Cakelaw
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 18:07:02

    I love the golden look of your chicken – this is a positive. Mmm, crispy skin!

  27. mike
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 19:34:16

    Browning turkey, chicken, etc – is so difficult. This looks phenomenal – so evenly browned. I’ve tried various methods but can never get it right. Dorie would be proud!

  28. Andrew Moore
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 01:56:58

    I don’t think your camera is a problem, the picture of the bird looks pretty good. I’ve never made a self-basting chicken before, that’s a magical concept.

  29. Renee (Kudos Kitchen)
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:57:09

    Oh YUM! I think your chicken looks pretty perfect and your potatoes and veggies are making my mouth water. I can see how this could easliy become your Friday night staple!

  30. Trackback: Happy Easter! « Yummy Chunklet
