Weekend Food–Sunken Nutella banana muffins

I did it! I bought a jar of Nutella yesterday determined to make a recipe with it. Let me say this, I thought the spread would be a little more workable straight out of the jar, but it’s rather thick and sticky. Then I thought, “Well, it is roughly a nut butter with chocolate.” So, I just let it rest on the warm stove for a couple of minutes to make it more pliable while I gathered the rest of the ingredients for the Nutella banana muffins.

With my baking, I’m rather wary when it comes to substitutions. I like having a recipe in front of me with clear instructions. When I see things like, “Can be substituted with” or “Try adding this”, I usually won’t because I’m concerned that incorporating some new ingredient will affect the chemical process of the dish’s baking, rising or melding.

Now, the recipe for Nutella banana muffins I used called for 1&1/2 cups of all-purpose flour. However, my attempt at daringness got the better of me, and I substituted the same amount of oat bran instead. My reasoning behind this was that I’ve made banana nut muffins like this before and those worked out fine. Plus, I thought the oat bran would give the muffins a slightly healthier twist.

Well, what I ended up with were muffins that were sunken in the middle like this:

"Sunken" muffin

After tasting a sample muffin and figuring the muffins would solidify upon cooling, my next thought was how to “disguise” the sunken part. I came up with this:

Just dollop some Nutella in there!

And then I thought, “Let’s take this one step further!”

Top it with bananas as an added garnish!

I actually felt pretty nifty by putting the Nutella and fresh banana on top. I mean, the recipe didn’t say to do that and the pictures turned out okay. Plus, I felt all fancy, like when the television chefs tell you to “garnish with what’s actually in the dish”. I remember a certain Hamptons chef liked doing that to make the dish look more festive.

In all seriousness, this muffin is actually quite tasty if you don’t mind the oat bran taste or texture. Feel free though to make the batter properly with all-purpose flour, lest you feel the need to garnish your muffins as well! If you do end up using all-purpose flour, the resulting muffins will be a light brown color.

*Adapted from Anali’s First Amendment adaptation from deliciousdays.com

1 stick butter, melted
2 lg. ripe bananas
2 eggs
1/2 c. sugar
1/3 c. Nutella
1/2 c. vanilla rice milk
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1 & 1/2 c. oat bran (or AP flour)

In medium bowl, melt butter. Mash bananas into butter with a fork. Mix in all the remaining ingredients except the oat bran. Stir well with a wooden spoon. Add oat bran and stir just until combined. Pour batter into muffin pan (greased or with liners) and bake for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 18:10:07

    Hahaha, you should share some Nutella stories. Way to make these look professional!! Love the “plating” đŸ™‚

  2. Jessica
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 21:03:32

    I don’t think I’ve ever tasted Nutella… Well, this looks like another dish to put on the potential Thanksgiving items!

  3. Yakiudon
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 07:31:49

    Filling the sunken part of the muffin with bonus Nutella and slices of banana was pure genius. I’m definitely going to have to find someone to make these for me.

