Healthy Apple Brown Betty

A single serving in an individual rammekin

A yummy spoonful

The dish running away with the spoon!

I know; it’s another apple post. But, who cares? It’s fall! Plus, in keeping with the spirit of Halloween and spookiness, I’m sending this post from the past by using the “Schedule a Post” option! (Insert creepy music here!) I’m having a minor surgical procedure done on Friday, so I won’t be able to post for a couple of days.

Anyways, in an effort to incorporate healthier baking into my kitchen rotation, I came across this apple brown betty recipe from Ellie Krieger. Because Krieger is a registered dietitian and nutritionist, I trusted that the two tablespoons of butter called for were okay this time. However, next time I make this (and I definitely will!), I’ll probably substitute Smart Balance for the butter just to see how it tastes. Oh, and if your oven runs hotter than normal (like mine), the dish was ready after 20 minutes of baking.

5 large Golden Delicious apples (about 2 pounds), peeled and thinly sliced
1 c. apple cider
3 tbsp. brown sugar, divided
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. ground cinnamon, divided
2 tbsp. butter, divided
3 slices whole-wheat bread (1-ounce each) crusts included (to make about 2 1/4 cups crumbs)
3 tbsp. chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine apples, apple cider, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, vanilla, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, until apples are tender but not mushy, about 10 minutes. Stir in 1 tbsp. butter until melted, remove from heat and transfer apple mixture to a 9-inch glass pie plate.

Place bread in food processor and process until crumbs are formed, about 15 seconds. Melt remaining 1 tbsp. butter in microwave for 20 seconds. Toss crumbs with melted butter, walnuts, remaining 2 tbsp. brown sugar and remaining 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Scatter crumb mixture on top of apples and bake for 30 minutes, until topping is crisped and lightly browned.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 01:40:56

    My oven does that too! It runs hotter than it should and we have to decrease the time our food is in it. Also, I bet the walnuts were really good in this apple dish; I didn’t know walnuts are normally in apple brown betty.

