ffwD–Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


First let me say, this cake was so delicious that it deserved its own slide show! I made this apple cake for dessert when my surgical oncologist friend, Candelabra, was visiting earlier this month. I wanted to stay true to the recipe and use a variety of apples and had planned on buying four different types of large apples. However, I was told that certain apples were better for baking, so I ended up buying five medium apples, 2 Granny Smith and 3 Gala.

I was surprised at the small quantities called for in the recipe and was concerned about how little cake mix it made. I started to tell my friend to not peel and cut the fifth apple, but it was too late because she was already finishing the last apple. So I thought, “baked apples always taste good”, and we proceeded to fold in all five medium chopped apples into the cake mix. The mixture looked more apple-y than cake-y, but we kept going.

About twenty minutes into baking, the smell of this awesome cake started permeating through my apartment. When I pulled it out, I was impressed by how the um, abundance, of apples made a design on top. Later, I realized that I had also used a 9-inch springform pan instead of an 8-inch, so that probably contributed to the look of the cake as well. Although my cake did not turn out picture-perfect like in the cookbook, I was crestfallen for only a second because the taste of this cake was so yummy. All I could say was, “Oh my gosh. This cake? Oh my gosh.”

We cut into the cake as soon as we felt it had cooled enough, which was probably all of three minutes because the smell was so enticing. We didn’t bother with ice cream or whipped cream. The cake was plenty moist and every piece of apple was coated in cake. I was amazed!

Oh, I didn’t use rum in the cake and instead doubled the amount of vanilla because I had Madagascar bourbon pure vanilla extract on hand. The remaining cake, what little was left, tasted great the next morning for breakfast with some skim milk. Cake breakfast? Yes, please!

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie C
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 14:56:15

    Looks delicious! Very apply 🙂 By the way, good luch with your surgery tomorrow.

  2. Mia
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 15:46:10

    Ur rite the batter is more appley than cakey and is honestly the most gorgeous cakkey delight!!
    Hah, honestly i ended up with lods pics too, but then i do step b step:-)
    Am looking foward for breakfast to eat up the barely left delight with my coffee!
    Love the whole exprnce u had !

  3. Mia
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 15:47:13

    Hey all the best with ur surgery andhope ur back sooonnn.

  4. lartdejournalier
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 16:29:59

    ha! I was thinking it would be great for breakfast too!
    Happy FFWD! looks de-lish!

  5. Rebecca
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 18:13:05

    Looks gorgeous– I love how the top of yours is so evenly decorated with apple parts!!

  6. Sarah
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 18:18:40

    Looks awesome! I can’t wait to get home and post my FFwD entry!

  7. Flourchild
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 21:12:32

    I passed on the rum too and added a little more vanilla and water! It turned out so good. I love your slide show and I think it’s deserving of one too!!

  8. Mary
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 21:53:13

    I had this one for breakfast too! I made it for a friend, but made a mini one in a ramekin for myself, and briefly considered keeping the whole thing. I didn’t, but I made another one the same week. Yours looks fantastic.
    🙂

  9. autumnwater
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:37:08

    You had the same apple-overload problem I did! But it really wasn’t a problem was it? (I say that as I’m licking my plate…)
    Wonderful pictures!

  10. Amy P
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:46:17

    I love the slide show. I am planning on having this for breakfast tomorrow. (So is my husband:)

  11. Jessica
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:47:23

    Nice slide show! It’s a better way to view pictures of your apple cake. From the top view, it looks like a dessert apple pizza, yum!

  12. Gloria
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 02:01:47

    Your cake looks great! I also used gala and granny smith and loved how the cake turned out. This recipe is definitely a keeper. And yes, cake for breakfast for sure!

  13. Elaine
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 06:41:28

    I think it looks picture perfect! It did smell so wonderful when it was baking, didn’t it?

  14. Trevor Sis Boom
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 07:46:38

    I would say your cake turned out PERFECT! I can’t get over the gorgeous color and texture of the apples on top! I’m jealous!

  15. Steph - jumpingoffthecliff
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:52:00

    Looks so yummy!!! I used the 9″ too and my cake looks remarkably similar to yours. I too was concerned about more apples than batter, but it sure tasted great…didn’t it? Lovely post.

  16. Linda
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 09:56:01

    I’m enjoying my cake with my morning coffee as I’m writing this. I loved this recipe!

    Your cake turned out beautiful!

  17. Mary
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 14:56:22

    I hope your surgery goes well…get well soon…lovely apple cake!

  18. Beth
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:31:10

    I could eat this for breakfast. Also lunch, dinner and late night snack.

    Plan B

  19. Kim
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:31:55

    Yours came out great! I used a 9″ pan too, but I did 1 1/2 times the recipe…I think I really could have double it! It was yummy and I DID try it for breakfast!!

  20. Becky
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 18:14:54

    Enjoyed reading your post. I also did not use rum and added more vanilla, but I also added apple cider. Just a thought. 🙂

  21. beth
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 19:03:43

    I hope your surgery goes well. Feel better soon. Your cake was so nicely browned and glossy. Did you put anything on the top? Looks yummy. B

  22. evilcakelady
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 19:16:45

    i am a big fan of cake breakfast! i love your slideshow.

  23. onewetfoot
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 05:53:09

    The second time I made it, I used only vanilla and it worked just as well. Your cake turned out really well.

    Good luck with your surgery.

  24. steph (whisk/spoon)
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 08:53:05

    love the slideshow and all those apple chunks–yummy!!

  25. Cakelaw
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 16:59:41

    I think your friend will love you forever after serving this marvellous cake to her. Wonderful job!

  26. Serene - momfoodproject.com
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:40:01

    We love it for breakfast, too. In fact, we nommed the whole thing (our second one, actually) between last night and breakfast today, and the teenager didn’t get any! So right now, James is out buying more apples. He says he’s going to buy enough that I can make two cakes this time. 🙂

  27. Trackback: ffwD: Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake « Yummy Chunklet
  28. Trackback: ffwD: Savory Cheese & Chive Bread « Yummy Chunklet
