My First Pumpkin Dish

I finally received some inspiration to try a dish with pumpkin! My sister, (Codename: DNSeven Engineer), carved a pumpkin this past weekend with the help of her cat, Feta.

Here’s a photo:

The unsuspecting pumpkin and Halloween black cat, Feta

All the carving produced this spooky jack-o-lantern!

See the fangs?

My sister even got permission from her landlord to place it on the porch!

Anyway, seeing those photos energized me to try a dish with pumpkin. I chose something simple: pumpkin dumplings from epicurious. Boiling the dumplings was a little tricky. Even after dipping your half teaspoon in the water before spooning out the dough still made bits of dough fall away from the dumpling once in the water. The dough is very moist, and although I enjoyed the resulting dish, it might be worth it to make full-on pumpkin gnocchi with brown sage butter, like barefootkitchenwitch did! (Her pictures look way better, too!)

After reading the comments, I made sure to cook the dumplings a little longer than the 10 minutes listed. These dumplings really got more of their flavor from the butter and Parmesan cheese, so don’t skip that step if you do make this recipe.

Bowl full of dumplings!

A single dumpling

It was difficult to accurately capture the look of the dumplings. My photos do not do the dish justice. If you enlarge the single dumpling photo, you can really see the specks of nutmeg.

Overall, I was pleased with the dumplings. I’m actually looking forward to using the rest of the canned organic pumpkin on another recipe. Maybe I’ll try my hand at the Nutella pumpkin bread…

1/2 c. solid pack pumpkin
1 lg. egg
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. (generous) baking powder
1/2 c. all-purpose flour

3 tbsp. butter
1/2 c. Parmesan cheese

Bring large pot of salted water to boil. Whisk pumpkin, egg, salt, nutmeg and baking powder in large bowl to blend. Mix in flour (dough will be soft).

Dip 1/2-teaspoon measuring spoon into boiling water to moisten. Scoop up generous 1/2 teaspoon of dough and return spoon to water, allowing dough to drop. Working in 2 batches, repeat dropping 1/2 teaspoonfuls of dough into water, first dipping spoon into water to moisten each time. Boil dumpling until cooked through, about 10 minutes. Using slotted spoon, transfer to colander and drain.

Melt butter in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add dumplings. Sauté until beginning to brown, about 8 minutes. Transfer dumplings to bowl. Sprinkle with cheese and serve.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tasha
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 14:33:00

    Looks good, maybe next time you will let me try it. LOL

  2. Jessica
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 12:46:22

    Kitty! You should post some of your pets helping you in the kitchen.

