Chicken Marsala

A couple of weeks ago, I had mistakenly purchased a bottle of Marsala thinking I needed it for another recipe that actually called for Madeira or dry vermouth. Luckily, I had dry vermouth on hand when I made that recipe, but the bottle of Marsala sat unopened on my counter for a week and a half while I pondered what to do with it. For a second I thought about returning it because I don’t usually cook with Marsala. However, like an epiphany, I flipped through Worth Tasting: A Culinary Tour Through the Architecture of the Palm Beaches, and found a simple recipe for chicken Marsala! I modified the recipe by using a half teaspoon of pre-diced garlic and white button mushrooms instead of portobello. The resulting dish was rather tasty, had a rich sauce, and very similar to what you would receive if you ordered chicken Marsala from The Cheesecake Factory. Seriously, I can’t say enough good things about this cookbook. It is slowly becoming a “go to” cookbook for easy to prepare dishes that make a great presentation on the plate and produce impressive flavor. I highly recommend this cookbook!

4 chicken cutlets
1 egg, beaten
1 c. all-purpose flour
2 tbsp. butter
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 & 1/2 c. sliced portobello mushrooms
2 c. Marsala, or to taste
1/4 c. (1/2 stick) butter

Pound the chicken between sheets of waxed paper until flattened. Dip in the egg and coat with the flour. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a skillet and then stir in the garlic. Cook over low heat until light brown and then stir in the mushrooms and 3/4 c. of the wine. Increase the heat to medium and cook until thickened, stirring frequently. Remove the mushroom mixture to a bowl.

Melt 1/4 c. butter in the same skillet and add the chicken. Cook until light brown on both sides. Add the reserved mushroom mixture and 1 c. of the remaining wine to the skillet and mix well. Cook until heated through, adding the remaining 1/4 c. wine if desired for a thinner consistency. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Garcia
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 21:48:27

    I know what you mean. I’m a member of the Junior League of the Palm Beaches so, of course, I own a copy of Worth Tasting. However, it wasn’t until recently that I actually opened it up and discovered a cookbook full of foolproof and spot on recipes! I too love these because the results of the recipes are so consistent. If you want to try something fabulous, try the CURRY CHICKEN SALAD (page 70) – you’re in for a treat with this one!

  2. Yakiudon
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 00:58:26

    I’ll take two orders to go please, mmmm cheesecake is that on the menu too?

  3. Jessica
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 14:51:07

    Mmm, the portobello mushrooms sound good, but they can get expensive (college student!). I wonder if the recipe would still be okay if cheaper mushrooms were used…

  4. tasha
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 10:05:35

    Looks good, I can’t wait to try it.

