ffwD–Hachis Parmentier


I’ve never actually made or eaten hachis parmentier, or shepard’s pie, before now. My cooking repertoire does not include much experience with a variety of meat cuts, save the random steak here and there. When I cook with meat, it’s usually ground beef. Needless to say, I was wary of using chuck or cube steak like the recipe calls for, so I went the safe route (at least for my first attempt) and followed the Bonne Idée version using ground beef and beef broth. I also wanted to see how complicated the Bonne Idée version would be time-wise if I were to make hachis parmentier during the week, as my bed beckons earlier on weeknights.

I pre-cooked the ground beef with some minced garlic, salt, pepper, MSG (I’m Filipina. MSG is a staple), dried thyme, chopped fresh parsley, and a chopped onion which I left in the filling. After that, I combined the cooked ground beef with the the sweet sausage (using only salt, pepper & MSG to season), placed a small amount of beef broth to moisten, and started on the potato topping.

This dish was a huge hit with my sister and my surgical oncologist friend, Candelabra. We had this as a main course after starting with gougeres. Even though the dish only had a half pound of sweet sausage, it added a really nice flavor and gave the dish a little more depth than just ground beef and potato. Oh, and as you can see in the pictures, I added 1/3 of a bag of peas into the filling by request. I don’t know…peas with ground beef, sausage, and potato just seemed right. Oh, and I guess the close-up picture seemed out of scale because my co-worker, Tasha, thought the peas were olives.

Next time I make this, I’ll probably still use the Bonne Idée version, but I’ll start boiling the water for the potatoes while making the filling instead of waiting until after that step is completed. Then, it can definitely be made on a weeknight when I’m pressed for time.

Thanks again to Candelabra for taking pictures of this dish! As always, this recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cakelaw
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 21:19:51

    The peas sound good to me – glad you liked this dish.

  2. Pamela
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 22:31:54

    I went with ground beef, too. This could be a week night meal for sure, if the potatoes are cooking at the same time, as you said. Looks good!

  3. Elaine
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 06:27:16

    You got a lovely golden brown crust! I love peas and think that would have been a great addition.

  4. jayne
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 06:28:28

    You’re the second person I’ve read (so far) who has added peas. Sounds like a good addition! Yours looks good!

  5. Mary
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 07:02:55

    I will add peas next time…good idea. I left the veggies in from the stock (carrots/celery). I loved your post about the cake pops..nice job.

  6. Monica
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 09:13:06

    It was so good and a total repeat at our house. And you are right, even if you go the long route (the way I did) and place the potatoes while you mix the filling.. you can have this on the table in less than 2 hours.

  7. Karen
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 11:45:02

    mmm loved how the sausage added so much to this too! 🙂

  8. Jessica
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 21:58:13

    Oh, shepard’s pie. Never a bad choice for dinner. I catered to an event last night that had roasted purple potatoes! You could have purple shepard’s pie!

  9. Trevor Sis Boom
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 02:52:45

    Your blog name ALWAYS makes me smile! I think you were smart to use the ground beef version here. I felt so silly making ‘leftovers’ for this…as good as it was!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  10. everystore
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 05:18:00

    Mmmm, peas! And how French did you feel eating both gougeres and hachis parmentier in one meal! 🙂

  11. Serene - momfoodproject.com
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 05:19:24

    I’ll definitely try it with peas next time. Or hmmm, green olives. 😉

