Halloween Cake Pops!


Nothing so far has gotten me into the Halloween baking spirit. Orange colored candies and pre-cut ghost cookies have never been popular with me. This is probably because I live in an apartment building with very few children, if any. Whether trick-or-treating occurs depends on whether the residents who want to pass out candy actually sign up on a list in the elevator. Then the kids know which doors to knock on and which doors to skip. Kind of defeats the purpose of knocking on all your neighbors’ doors and getting a bag full of candy, right?

However, I perked up when I saw an article about Halloween cake pops decorated as eyeballs and monster faces, which I thought was so cute! It also helped that my one-and-a-half year old niece, Chunklet, was visiting for the weekend, and she loves cake! Well, she pretty much loves anything carb-y. (Side note: I purchased Spongebob Squarepants mac ‘n cheese just for her visit.)

Now, you will see that the recipe below is very easy and somewhat cheating by listing store-bought cake mix. Trust me, you will want to use store-bought here to save yourself the frustration I went through in making the red velvet cake from scratch. Now, I love baking, but when a recipe calls for an item that I don’t use often, I get irritated when I have to buy a bottle or jar of it for the teaspoon called for in the recipe. (See my post on mustard tartlets, for example.) In this case, it was the teaspoon of vinegar for the red velvet cake. I tried in vain to remember which take-out restaurant had packets of vinegar I could take, but I couldn’t remember. So, I did the next best thing(?) and used balsamic vinegar that I had on hand.

I was warned by my co-worker, Metiche, that it would not turn out right if I used balsamic vinegar. But, all my research indicated that the vinegar in red velvet cake was not for taste but more for the interaction with the baking soda and the resulting bubbles, thus producing a lighter cake. Besides, if the vinegar was for taste, why would the recipe call for white distilled vinegar? Warmed balsamic vinegar with a bit of sugar is delicious over fresh strawberries. Anyway, I tasted the cake and it was delicious! I couldn’t tell a difference. If you would like the recipe I used for the red velvet cake, just leave me a comment below!

The cake pop process was pretty simple. Just make sure you have time to spare because you need to allow the cake pops to harden before you coat them in chocolate. These were so fun that I might adapt these into Thanksgiving and Christmas versions!

Halloween Cake Pops:
1 box red velvet cake mix
1 can white or cream cheese frosting
1 bag melting chocolate (I used white chocolate)
lollipop sticks
assorted colors of decorating icing

Prepare the cake according to directions. Allow the cake to cool. Take a fork and begin the crumb the cake in a large bowl. Take two forks and work the entire can of frosting into the bowl of crumbs. Using a small spoon or melon baller, prepare cake balls the size of walnuts and freeze for one hour.

After an hour, melt your chocolate and place the lollipop sticks into the hardened cake balls. Either dip or use a spoon to coat the cake balls with the melted chocolate. Allow the chocolate to firm up and then decorate with the icing. I attempted to make monster faces, but I seemed to have more success with eyeballs.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NN
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 20:01:07

    An eyeball within an eyeball! BRILLIANT!!

    It’s like looking into the mirror in a mirror in a changing room. But sweeter.

  2. Jessica
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 21:55:10

    Wow. I want.

  3. Sarah
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 05:34:20

    OMG! Where are my Halloween cookie cake pops! I mean really, come on!

  4. Miriam
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 15:53:22

    I dont know how I missed the pictures for this post. These balls look great!

