ffwD–Gougeres


Whee! I’m so excited to finally post today’s french fridays with Dorie recipe, gougeres! Not only is this my first foray into public blogging (only a chosen few have known about my blog until now), but I actually made the gougeres along with two other October ffwD recipes for one meal last Saturday!

What was the occasion for this three-in-one meal? Well, I have a friend (code name: Candelabra) interviewing for surgical oncology fellowships around the country, and one contender is Northwestern Memorial Hospital. Knowing this, I’m on a not-so-secret mission to lure her away from other fellowships (move over, Mayo Clinic!), so I decided to make her a home-cooked meal. But more importantly, she offered to take pictures of the food with her camera because the battery in my digital camera has since run out of power, and I can’t seem to find the charger. So, photo credits to her!

Onto the gougeres! I’ve been a huge fan of pâte à choux ever since a physics professor of mine told me how easy it was to make, pipe into swan shapes, and assemble with cream filling and chocolate sauce. Since then, I’ve made cream puffs for my sisters who always request “more cream” inside the puffs. However, they’ve requested this so much that their ideal version would contain all cream and no puff.

Anyway, these gougeres are the right balance of an eggy, cheesey inside and a crisp, cheesey outside. My friend Candelabra had the job of spooning out the puffs while I worked on other parts of the meal. The dough was baked in two batches, with the first batch being lighter in color, but still crisp, and the second batch being darker in color and very crisp. Both batches were delicious! Personally, the egginess of the cheese puff was more prominent with the lighter batch, and the cheesiness stood out more with the darker batch.

These cheese puffs were still great the next day after just a quick re-heat in the oven. They make a great, toasty snack. I’ll definitely be making these again. They’re extremely easy and quick. Though, I think I’ll try them with the fancier Gruyère cheese.

The gougeres recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s cookbook Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vinegar
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 01:05:29

    If I tried to make this, I would blow up the kitchen… but we need a new kitchen anyway…

    I shall try this!

  2. Elaine
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 02:46:31

    They look great! I like that you can really see the cheese in yours. I think I should have added more to mine.

    • yummychunklet
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 13:49:16

      To be honest, I was worried that because I used extra-sharp cheddar instead of Gruyère the puffs would look funny, but it didn’t matter because I liked the taste! Thanks for the comment!

  3. Jessica
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 11:08:30

    These look delicious. Do they taste like Red Lobster bottomless biscuits?

    • yummychunklet
      Oct 01, 2010 @ 13:50:29

      They have a different consistency. The puffs are more eggy, crisp and light, while the Red Lobster cheddar bay biscuits are more substantial and biscuit in texture.

  4. Molly
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 12:23:07

    Hope you saved some for me!!! YUM!

  5. jayne
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 20:01:20

    Nice job! I used sharp cheddar, too.

  6. Sarah
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 20:10:09

    The pictures look mouth-watering! Looks like you did a great job. Hope the luring was successful 😉

  7. NN
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 22:29:56

    Cheese….. puffs…… ummmm.

    Will be back for more next weekend. That and the interview =)

  8. Serene - momfoodproject.com
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 17:48:43

    Lovely! Good job, and I look forward to reading your blog now that it’s in the limelight. 🙂

  9. mike
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 21:27:23

    Cheese? More cheese please! I would have added the sharp cheddar – now I want to try my hand at cream puffs! Nicely done with the gougeres!

