My favorite pie…

Mmm...pie...

Recently, I was flipping through the channel guide and saw that the movie Waitress was playing. Now, I don’t care for Keri Russell, and for those of you who remember the show “Felicity” know that I never got into that jazz. However, Keri Russell’s character in Waitress created crazy pies, and I love pies! The pies within the film had interesting names. The most intriguing sounding pie was the Strawberry Chocolate Oasis pie. While I love strawberries and chocolate together, strawberries are not in season and lately I’ve been keen on buying seasonal, locally grown fruit from farmers’ markets. So, that put a damper on that pie. But, the thought of a chocolate pie was stuck. And my absolute favorite pie is Perkins’ Chocolate French Silk pie (pictured above).

This pie is so creamy, yummy, and decadent. Although I’m not a chocoholic like many of my friends, I will go out of my way to get this pie. For instance, I’ve driven from Chicago to Champaign-Urbana to have dinner at Perkins with my sister who was attending college there. On occasions when I had access to a rental car for a deposition occurring in a suburb with a Perkins, I would make a stop to get a pie. I’ve convinced others with cars to “road trip” to Perkins to get this pie. I’ve even had my younger sister bring a Perkins’ chocolate french silk pie from Arkansas when she drove up to visit me in Chicago! Yes, I love this pie. It’s along the same lines as iCarly and her love of Galini’s coconut cream pie.

And just like that, I went from wondering about the Strawberry Chocolate Oasis pie to scouring the Interwebs for a Perkins Chocolate French Silk Pie recipe. Of course, Perkins itself won’t release this recipe, but many have posted their own versions. Most didn’t involve whipped cream folded into the chocolate mixture, so those recipes were immediately omitted. I found two promising finalists and narrowed it down when I read that one recipe incorporated marshmallow fluff. Um, no thank you. Marshmallows are only good in s’mores (“I haven’t had anything yet, so how can I have some more of nothing?” “You’re killing me, Smalls!”) And, no, marshmallows do not belong on this monstrosity either.

But, I digress. I used a recipe from a Reader’s Digest site called Taste of Home. The recipe itself isn’t difficult, but I had to give the egg and sugar mixture another go. First, I thought it would be easier to pre-scramble the eggs, put them in the saucepan and then add the sugar. This resulted in scrambled eggs with sugar to form. Ew. So, I threw it out and started again. This time, I put the sugar in the pan first and cracked the eggs on top. This worked out much better as the mixture never scrambled but rather stayed liquid. Everything else went smoothly.

When I tasted this pie, all I could say was, “Oh my god. This pie. Oh my god.” This pie is AWESOME and very much like the Perkins pie. The only difference was the thickness of the filling. When I made the whipped cream, I think beat it a second or two past the “till soft peaks form” stage causing the whipped cream to have less air. Therefore, when I folded my cream into the chocolate mixture, the pie filling was just a tad bit denser than the Perkins pie. But, this is easily remedied by actually stopping the mixer when I see soft peaks in the whipped cream. Other than that, the texture would have been exactly like the Perkins pie.

As for the taste, it was spot on! Seeing as this was my first foray into using baking chocolate, I didn’t think 2 ounces of unsweetened chocolate would be enough. But this pie is absolute chocolate heaven, especially with the chocolate shavings on top. I suppose for those with a serious chocolate tooth (Is that right? Chocolate tooth?), a chocolate cookie crust could be substituted in but that would be overkill for my taste. This pie is definitely a go-to fix instead of high-tailing it out to a Perkins in the burbs. I will be making this again. Hopefully, one of you will be in Chicago to have a slice!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NN
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 23:21:15

    MORE PIE!! Maybe in 2 days?

  2. Jessica
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 13:08:49

    I miss southern food…

  3. Jessica
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 13:12:40

    You have to make this when I come home for Xmas.

  4. Molly
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 21:20:39

    Chocolate should be a food group, it is that important in life! And marshmallows are DELICIOUS on sweet potato casserole…mmmm! When you gonna bake my no-bake Energy Balls?!

  5. Sarah
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 20:01:30

    me and jecca French silk pie breakfast for 3 days. You can add this to the list of baked goods you are overnighting to me.

  6. Sarah
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 20:05:31

    I need you to also go ahead and crack their pie crust recipe since you have chocolate filling heaven worked out.

