Peach Scones


After debating the peach scones v. Nutella pumpkin bread issue, I decided to make the peach scones before the peaches got any softer. Upon further inspection, some of the peaches had 1 or 2 soft spots, so it was better to cut up all the peaches instead of just enough for the 1 cup called for in the recipe. Plus, I hadn’t gone to the grocery store to pick up pumpkin filling and the Nutella.

Just as a refresher, I used a new scone recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod. This version uses almond extract (which I didn’t use) and incorporates 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. The recipe also calls for a brushing of heavy cream on the top of each scone then a sprinkle of sugar before baking. I seem to have misplaced my pastry brush, so I skipped that step.

The cinnamon is prominent in these peach scones. Not only did the warm cinnamon permeate through the apartment while the peach scones were baking, but the specks of cinnamon were readily visible throughout the scone. It’s similar to seeing actual vanilla seed specks in ice cream. These scones aren’t overly sweet. Instead, the warm cinnamon is brought forward, almost overshadowing the peaches. But, that could just be my palate. Next time, I’ll probably add an additional half cup of peaches. I guess I could reduce the amount of cinnamon, but 1/4 teaspoon already seemed to be a scant amount. 1/8th next time?

Compared to strawberry scones, these peach scones were slightly drier and seemed more appropriate as an accompaniment with tea. When I made strawberry scones with a different recipe, I felt like those could be eaten as a dessert with a glass of cold milk. Hmm…

I brought four samples to work and took pictures of them (shown above) with Metiche’s camera! A big thanks goes out to her! Especially after all the uploading issues…stupid old computers.

As a side note, I baked these peach scones on Monday, but waited till Wednesday to bring them into work. They keep really well, so you can make these in advance for a get together. Or, better yet, you can make the dough ahead of time, freeze it, and bake right before you go for fresh out-of-the-oven treats and a warm cinnamon smelling apartment greeting you when you get back! Trust me, the cinnamon smell lingers.

Some tips! Make sure to flour your work surface before you combine the the wet and dry ingredients and turn the dough out. Your hands will get very sticky from the dough which makes it difficult to re-flour your work surface. Also, if you use a dough cutter, knife or pizza cutter to cut out your peach scones, make sure to flour that as well! Finally, a silpat or similar silicon baking pad is a time saver when all the excess sugar from the dusting gets stuck to that surface instead of your baking pan, which would require more work when cleaning.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 13:14:19

    Pizza cutter to cut scones…good idea! Also, cinnamon makes many things better. I can’t think of a food that cinnamon would completely ruin…

  2. mimi
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 14:37:47

    I had the scone for dessert after my sausage, mushroom, jalapeno pizza and although it was wonderful, I would pair it up with tea instead of eating it as a dessert.

  3. Tasha
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 11:17:04

    The peach scones were exquisitely pleasing, I enjoy every bite of it with my morning coffee.

