No, I’m not hoping for a book deal…

Welcome! If you’re reading this, then you must be one of the chosen few I’ve decided to let in on my blogging secret: mainly, that I’m starting a blog. Truly, I don’t know how long this will last, but the sole reason for starting one is because of a cooking project I would like to participate in which requires a blog. I’ll talk more about it below. Anyway, so born was Yummy Chunklets!

If you don’t know the origin of this blog’s name, it’s partly an homage to my cute (but solid) 16-month-old niece, Bella, who my sister refers to as “my chunklet”.  The “yummy” part? I’ve been baking for awhile now, and my Google Reader seems to be dedicated to large number of baking blogs. Most of the baking blogs participate in something called “Tuesdays with Dorie” in which the participants are required to bake a version of a chosen recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking: From My Home to Yours” each week. That author has a new French cooking cookbook out soon, and a similar version of “Tuesdays with Dorie” is being organized called “French Fridays with Dorie”.

As for me, I’m a practicing attorney in Chicago. I de-stress on the weekends by baking random things from several of the blogs I follow and by playing World of Warcraft. (Gasp!) Trust me, when litigating gets too serious and the royal icing is dripping everywhere because you forgot to buy squeeze bottles, killing Internet dragons is extremely satisfying.

In any case, if I get confirmed with the cook-along project, I’ll post more. In the mean time, I’ll be trying more baking recipes and will let you know how it goes. If you’re lucky to be in the Chicago area, or if I’m feeling generous with the mailing, I’ll try and let you sample some of the results!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 22:47:47

    Please send cream puffs.

  2. Dfox
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 08:54:08

    I think this is great!!! Send me some stuff to try!

  3. NN
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 16:20:55

    I have a fancy camera!! I will take pictures for you.

  4. mimi
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 13:52:46

    I really enjoyed reading this, although I think you should have brought me a muffin and some spinach dip for me to taste.

