10 Questions Answered & an Award!

Celi at thekitchensgarden tagged me to answer ten interesting questions about myself, and I was happy to oblige!

1. Describe yourself in seven words. I definitely bake better than I cook.

2. What keeps you up at night. The incessant replays of ESPN’s Sportscenter.

3. Who would I like to be. Professionally, Johnnie Cochran. Personally, Angelina Jolie but with an appetite, Ina Garten with a little less appetite, or Nigella Lawson with less “sex eyes” looks at food and/or the camera.

4. What am I wearing right now. Pajamas, you perv. Kidding!

5. What scares me. The thought of getting into a car accident. I buckle up every time I’m in a car!

6. The best and worst of blogging. The best: when the photo turns out nicely and bloggers comment as such. The worst: when I feel “required” to post because it’s been three days since my last post.

7. The last website I visited. Ricky Gervais…Obviously.

8. What is the one thing I would change about myself. My automatic need to judge.

9. Slankets yes or no? Yes, because Tina Fey’s character on 30 Rock, Liz Lemon, is caught wearing one in her office. Later in the episode, she’s seen wearing the same slanket in her apartment, eating cheese, and singing “Workin’ on my night cheese!”

10. Tell us something about the person who tagged you! Celi, a New Zealand transplant, is a gifted writer and photographer, though her professional-quality photos far exceed her self-proclaimed “ordinary” photographer status. Her whimsical stories of her life on the prairie make me yearn for country living, if only to have access to all her delicious, fresh food.

In addition to Celi’s fun questions, Betsy from bits and breadcrumbs tagged me with a Food Bloggers “Unplugged” award, which also required answering some questions.

1. What, or who inspired you to start a blog? It all started because of my participation in French Fridays with Dorie! Ah, I remember it well.
It was a Friday…

2. Who is your foodie inspiration? Well, I’ve liked Ina Garten forever and a day, but I’ll go even further and say ultimately, it’s Julia Child. Generic, right?

3. Your greasiest, batter–splattered food/drink book is? Nigella Express. I was cooking from that before I even bothered to care what blogging was.

4. Tell us all about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it, what was it? Well, there’s too many to count, but the juiciest cheeseburger I ever had was from Jollibee in the Philippines. Then again, I was only ten when I ate it, but I still speak of the experience fondly. That, and the mango and coconut ice candy we bought from the lady next door.

5. Another food bloggers table you’d like to eat at is? Linda’s table at Savoring Every Bite!

6. What is the one kitchen gadget you would ask Santa for this year (money no object of course)? Hmm…I already received my previous wish, my boysenberry Kitchen Aid, from my sister (Codename: DSN Engineer). So now, I’d love a countertop proofer. Or, the large, silver, multi-racked commercial version on wheels would do nicely as well!

7. Who taught you how to cook? My mother.

8. I’m coming to you for dinner; what’s your signature dish? Lumpia, lasagna and cream puffs.

9. What is your guilty food pleasure? Tater tots.

10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn. I previously admitted this when I first started blogging, but everyone who read it already knew that I used to be a World of Warcraft junkie. I played somewhat intently for awhile, and when I stopped, I was a raiding level 85 tauren hunter dual spec’d survival and marksman with a beast mastery spec for PvP. Yeah, I said it. If that didn’t make any sense to you, head to your nearest comic book store, say that sentence out loud, and you’ll have about a thousand geeks either applauding your statement or leering at you for choosing the wrong race for playing a hunter. And, yes, I said that as well.

Thanks again to Celi and Betsy for allowing me to completely embarrass myself! Whee!

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay aka Babygirl
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:23:15

    Love the answers to your questions. And you should only be required to post when you really really have something to say :). Don’t rush yourself :).. besides you have great post anyway

  2. hotlyspiced
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:55:42

    Wow! Two sets of questions at once! Unbelievable. Great post. Really good getting to know more about you. Who knew you were a whiz with that computer game.

  3. Anita Menon
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 00:36:28

    I thought you were a gal.. but all your answers kind of point towards you being a guy. Esp the ESPN answer. I am so confused.

    Loved the questions and your candid answers. Was an opportunity to know you a wee bit more.

    Cheers

  4. Ann
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 00:51:43

    LOVED these questions and answers! It’s nice to get a slice of your life…you’re quite a funny gal and congratulations!

  5. Three-Cookies
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 03:56:28

    Very interesting to read these.

  6. ceciliag
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 06:09:27

    That was a great post and i learnt more about you. i know that is the goal but I am always happy to find stuff out, I just mIght pop over for a few of those cream puffs. Thank you for the lovely words, It is always pleasure to visit and be visited by you.. have fun.. c

  7. Inger Wilkerson
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 06:38:22

    Wow, this made me remember the organic tater tots I used to feed my kids when they were little! Congratulations!

  8. Jen at The Three Little Piglets
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 06:53:08

    I think so many of can relate to a few of these – I think the low in blogging is when someone unsubscribes and you’re left wondering what did I do?

  9. Cher
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 07:07:48

    Cuye post 🙂

  10. Louise
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 07:25:09

    Congrats on the award, Yummy! It’s been a pleasure getting “up close and personal, lol…

    Thanks for sharing…

  11. rebecca
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 07:59:56

    enjoy these posts fun to learn about you

  12. claire
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 08:46:38

    too cute! i love that idea- 10 hard questions but liked all your answers… dont we all wish we were angelina with an appetite (especially with big bad brad)!

  13. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 08:50:15

    I love your seven word answer, because that’s the first sentence I’ve seen. I mean in response to that question. And the Jolie with an appetite bit, priceless.

  14. bitsandbreadcrumbs
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 09:37:57

    How clever to do both of these at once and learn so much about you in one fell swoop, yummy! Ditto what Greg said..I wasn’t able to do the seven word answer myself. But I loved all of your answers, really fun and funny, and I’ll have to ask my husband about World of Warcraft…he’s the video junkie in the house. I did visit Dragon Con last year but that’s as close as I’ve come. Great post!

  15. forgottenbeast
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 09:49:32

    I would love to be able to bake…until then, I’ll acknowledge my cooking skills and limited baking ability while admiring your always amazing baked treats! And I love Tina Fey/Liz Lemon. Liz makes me feel better about the fact that I have so many of the same, uh, let’s go with “quirks” 🙂

  16. Beth
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 09:53:45

    Great answers. I love Ina too!

  17. Priya Mahadevan
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 12:50:52

    Wow, this is lovely – one gets an insight into the person behind the blog 🙂 Greats Qs and awesome answers … BTW, are you from VA? I saw your WIlliamsburg jam bottles …??

  18. Lisa {Smart Food and Fit}
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 14:59:48

    So much fun to get to know bloggers aside from their food postings! I loved your response regarding Angelina Jolie and Ina Garten, still can’t stop laughing! I agree with you on the posting response, hate that feeling when you feel like you have to post b/c it’s been a few days! Great answers and have a great day!

  19. Cakelaw
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 15:13:48

    Cool – fun Q&A.

  20. Ameena
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 15:56:00

    I love lasagna! If that’s your signature dish…that’s what I’d request when I finally come over for dinner. 🙂

  21. JasmyneTea
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 19:09:31

    Congrats!!! Omg, don’t you just love Nigella Express? My copy’s all dog-eared and tattered, lol.

  22. Ronda
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:15:38

    I am a better baker than a cook too.

  23. Elaine
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:55:06

    It was fun reading your answers and getting to know more about you.

  24. Stefanie
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:23:14

    Congrats on the award! Always fun to learn more about fellow bloggers! And I must say, the WoW thing…. totally made me smile! I used to play, but was never big on PvP cuz I kind of sucked. I do miss it… yay for Horde!!! (haha, sorry had to…)

  25. peachkins
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:41:52

    You know, I hate that feeling too. The feeling that you are required to post

    btw,what are slankets?

  26. Simply Life
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 06:24:37

    fun post! I get scared of car accidents as well…

  27. Geni - Sweet and Crumby
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 08:00:56

    I am soooooo glad you played along. I had a good laugh at the last one. My hubby and son would totally understand. They’ve gone to the WoW conventions in L.A. several times. The costumes there have blown me away. I am a much better baker than cook as well! Have a great weekend!

  28. spicegirlfla
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:50:14

    Aww..this is great and I’m flattered you’d come to dinner!! I would so welcome you and now knowing a bit more about you; we definitely would have a wonderful time!!! You will need to bring one of your fabulous desserts!!!

  29. April @ The 21st Century Housewife
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 09:08:25

    It’s lovely to learn a bit more about you! Some of your answers really made me smile. I can understand getting hooked on World of Warcraft. My son got really hooked on it for a while a few years ago 🙂

  30. Frollicking Night Owl
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 15:08:47

    Fun reads! Good way to get to know you a little better. 🙂