Month-long Birthday Celebration: FIRST WEEK!

For those of you who don’t know, I’m celebrating my birthday every day during the month of May! Here’s a rundown of the daily goodies since my last birthday posting:

*May 3rd–Have any of you ever been inside something called a “dollar store”? Since I live in the city, I rarely see this phenomenon. But, I was in the suburbs appearing for a case and had some time to kill before heading back during morning rush hour traffic. I noticed a dollar store near the courthouse so I took a look inside. Most of the stuff was pretty gaudy and awful, but there were some fun random things. Like this blue plastic serving tray: And these kitchen towels:I wasn’t planning on getting them, but for a dollar each? Why not? It won’t upset me when the tray eventually cracks and when I throw away the towels instead of washing them. They were only a dollar!

*May 4th–An Italian bakery near me makes the best Italian buttercream mini-cookie sandwiches. The buttercream is unlike anything I’ve made, so I treated myself to four cookies and savored them, hoping I could crack the buttercream recipe. No luck on the recipe, but I enjoyed every bite!

*May 5th–I had two strawberry margaritas (after work, of course) in honor of Cinco de Mayo and my birthday!

*May 6th–Knowing I was going out Saturday night, I indulged with an evening in and watched the BBC’s “Pride and Prejudice” mini-series again. I will never get tired of watching the torment that both Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy experience separately and then the ultimate satisfaction when they come together.

*May 7th–I finally sat down and re-organized my 401(k) options. It may not sound like much of a present now, but I want to enjoy my retirement (which is still a LONG way off)! So, it’s more of a “future” present! Year-long birthday celebration perhaps?

*May 8th–Called my mother and my sister (Codename: Chunklet’s mom) to wish them Happy Mother’s Day! Then I celebrated by having a slice of vanilla bean white chocolate cheesecake! Aren’t I thoughtful? (Kidding.)

*May 9th–For the longest time, I’ve been wanting to buy gel food coloring for more intense colors in my baking, but I kept putting it off because I wanted to use up the liquid food coloring I already had. However, I bit the bullet and bought gel food coloring (in classic colors) anyway! I used a simple white cake recipe so the colors would stand out more. Here’s a look at my “experiment”:Till next week…

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Three-Cookies
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:06:59

    Celebrating every day? Sounds awesome. If you have 12 family members with birthdays during different months you could be celebrating the whole year:)

  2. Eileen
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:10:19

    Those cupcakes are so cheerful! I didn’t even know there was such a thing as gel food dye. I like your month-long birthday celebration. My birthday is this friday–I may borrow your idea. lol

  3. spicegirlfla
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:36:22

    Happy birthday week! Just found your blog and thought this was such a fun idea! I have b’day weekend celebrations for my kids…but why not a week? and why not indulge myself too!! love the pretty cupcakes!!

  4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:53:53

    May 5 sounds like my kind of birthday celebration. Oh who am I kidding, I want that tray and the Austen marathon too!

  5. Peggy
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:55:45

    Sounds like you kicked off your Birthday month with a bang! I love finding random things at the Dollar Store – it’s perfect for cheap “props” for food shots!

  6. Summer Rose
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:57:36

    I like that , if u have 12 members , u celebrate whole year :-)
    But honestly i am so with u on this , i think of my birthday and it excites me all year round :-)
    I get goodies all year round but the birthday ones are so so special and love the Christmas month that comes as a bonus!

    Oh those cookies with butter cream , maybe they added one of those LorAnn’s extracts that bakeries add , like clear butter extract , jus maybe or the type of Vanilla they added in!
    Oh i so wan u to crack that recipe now or send me some cookies :-))))

    And everything is so so happy here that i feel ”birthdayish” too!
    Dont they make us happy!!

    And ofcrz Yummy C , Happy Birthday with lots and lots of love and Poohy Hugs !

  7. Ryan
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:01:00

    Love your week of celebrations! They all sound grand– I am a huge BBC Pride and Prejudice fan too! It never gets old, *sigh*. Your cupcakes look so pretty with the rainbow colors- very festive!

  8. kitchen flavours
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:29:25

    Happy Birthday! Celebrating a month-long birthday is a cool idea!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog. Will be back visiting again!

  9. Jessica
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:36:57

    Please make the rainbow cake when I move in. I see that you already have experimented with the colors.

  10. Yuri
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:47:51

    Ohh love your findings in the dollar store. Seems that you’ve been having fun every day, good for you :) I celebrated on Friday with some wine. Then on Sunday I drank a whole bottle of champagne rosé “because its my birthday month”. Today’s special event is a Chocolate + Wine pairing class. Yes. I love wine :D

  11. sweetlife
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:52:21

    I love your daily gift!! of course I enjoy that you had 2 margaritas and that vanilla bean white choclate cheesecake, HEAVEN!! super idea..I might try this next year!!

    sweetlife

  12. fitchocoholic
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:29:15

    Birthmonth? Sounds awesome!!!!! :D

  13. Pudding Pie Lane
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:50:02

    What cute cakes! I always stop by the pound store and end up coming out with a load of kitchen stuff too :D can’t resist!

  14. Anita Menon
    May 10, 2011 @ 11:31:25

    Very interesting stuff and I admire the fact that you take joy in these little pleasures.

    I can’t wait to read what you do next.
    Love the beautiful cup cakes- rainbow cupcakes you should call them

  15. Mary
    May 10, 2011 @ 12:13:55

    It sounds like your birthday month is off to a great start. It also sounds like you’re having a lot of fun with the selection of your daily treat. Have another great day and enjoy the hunt. Blessings…Mary

  16. Ronda
    May 10, 2011 @ 13:31:34

    Fun! May is always such a fun month!

  17. kankana
    May 10, 2011 @ 13:56:21

    Celebrating the whole month sounds so much fun .. just love the idea :) That cheese cake looks too yummy and so does those cookies. Keep the fun coming on . waiting for the next post to see more ! HUGS

  18. Meri
    May 10, 2011 @ 14:18:14

    I am DYING for one of those sandwich cookies! Or, erm, maybe all of them. If you manage to figure out the recipe do tell!

  19. birdie to be
    May 10, 2011 @ 14:22:49

    Those cookie sandwiches are adorable! I love rainbow sprinkles. So fun & festive.

    http://www.birdietobe.blogspot.com

  20. chunklet's mom
    May 10, 2011 @ 15:03:09

    Those cookie sandwiches looked awesome! I loved the intense colors of the gel food coloring. I think I ‘m going to try to make the 7-layer rainbow cake for my chunkel’s birthday.

  21. Priya Mahadevan
    May 10, 2011 @ 15:25:20

    I agree with Chunklet’s mom -butter cream cookies look too delicious!

  22. A_Boleyn
    May 10, 2011 @ 15:30:21

    I love dollar stores and always end up buying “something” whether I need it or not. I love the colour of the blue tray which would look great in my kitchen … if it was only glass. :)

  23. Barb
    May 10, 2011 @ 15:35:21

    I want the cookies. One of the colorful cupcakes. The cocktail. And the evening in with Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy.

    GREAT bday month.

    And I really want the cookies.

  24. Maris (In Good Taste)
    May 10, 2011 @ 16:25:17

    I love the idea of month long birthday celebrations. Birthday cake at the bake sale!

  25. Simply Life
    May 10, 2011 @ 18:38:33

    what a fun celebration!

  26. Christy
    May 10, 2011 @ 18:58:15

    Awww, that’s just so sweet, to be celebrating your birthday almost every day! I’d love that too :) I love the month of my birthday too (don’t we all;)!!
    Hehehe, just to add to your long list of celebration, wishing you a very very Happy Birthday…or should it be Birth-month? :P LOL!

  27. chanzdutt
    May 10, 2011 @ 20:33:17

    wow week celebration….tats a gud idea. Happy Birhday :-)

  28. Betty @ scrambled hen fruit
    May 10, 2011 @ 21:13:01

    Happy Birthday! I love how you’re celebrating all month long. :) I want some of those cookies!

  29. natalia
    May 11, 2011 @ 00:38:41

    What a celebration ! I cannot wait to see the other days !

  30. Cakelaw
    May 11, 2011 @ 06:56:39

    Looks like you’be been having fun. I seriously want to steal that slice of vanilla bean cheesecake – though I suspect it isn’t around anymore …

  31. sanyaliving
    May 11, 2011 @ 07:45:06

    What a great birthday week! The Italian cookies look amazing!
    Pride and Prejudice is my all time fave and those colours are fantastic!

  32. Liz
    May 11, 2011 @ 10:41:11

    Great post!!! I love how you’re treating yourself…especially to the strawberry margaritas and cheesecake! Wonderful cupcakes, too, and hope you crack the buttercream mystery b/c all your fans want the recipe :)

  33. Ameena
    May 11, 2011 @ 11:19:15

    I think that a few of those little cookies would be present enough for me! They look delicious!

  34. Adriana
    May 11, 2011 @ 14:49:23

    I will jump in the celebration, li’l Chunklet! There are a few of us blogging gals with May birthdays. I started celebrating by bringing to the office some of the flowers I bought to decorate for Mothers’ Day. Sure feels more festive in here. Love your different activities – those are some HAPPY cookies and cupcakes.

  35. claire
    May 11, 2011 @ 15:26:33

    wohoo! happy birthday month!

    love how you are treating yourself to so many goodies!

  36. Parsley Sage
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:18:24

    You’re like having my dream month. Keep it up! Those cupcakes look fantastic, by the way. After I ruined a whole mess of chocolate on Free Comic Book Day by trying to use liquid dye, I toyed with the idea of buying the gels since I couldn’t find any powder in the store. I ended up going the sprinkles route instead but if I can make pretty colors like you’re I absolutely need to go buy me some gel :) Thanks for sharing!

  37. Sutapa
    May 12, 2011 @ 01:37:55

    Cookies are soo beautiful! Wish A Very Happy Birthday month!

  38. Jay
    May 12, 2011 @ 06:44:06

    wow…wat a fantastic celeb here..awesome…happy b day dear….keep rocking..
    gorgeous clicks..:)
    Tasty Appetite

  39. Joyti
    May 12, 2011 @ 14:06:26

    Ah, dollar stores. There’s a Japanese version in San Francisco, right in the financial district!
    And the vanilla bean cheesecake looks delicious…

  40. Louise
    May 13, 2011 @ 17:28:51

    A month of birthday celebrations sounds fabulous, yummy!!! A very very Happy Birthday to you!!!

    Dollar stores are a hit or miss kind of adventure. Thet’re great for stcoking up on coloring books for the grandkids. Which reminds me, planning a sensible retirement is the best present EVER!!! Good for you!

    Thanks for sharing…enjoy your celebrations!!!

  41. Chaya
    May 14, 2011 @ 22:08:42

    What a fabulous month. My birthday is almost a year away. Not fair.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

